See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 83% from 31 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 67%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I've been to 100s of hostels in my lifetime, all over the world. SF CCH is on the top of my list for US hostels. Amazing atmosphere, great location, super clean and very secure. Great people, delicious bfast ( included ), awesome decor. Cheap beer (happy hour 2-3 dollars a pint ). Access to pro kitchen utilities. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The price I guess isn't really a good price ( 39.00 / night ), but for SF it is the norm and relatively cheaper than most.
  • 97%
  • 28 Apr 2015 Ruben
  • Room was very clean. Bed was so comfortable. Best room in a hostel for comfort , size and cleanliness, of any I have stayed in. Breakfast was more than sufficient.
  • 86%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Best hostel I've ever seen. Everthing is perfect.
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • I was very surprised over how clean it was everywhere, good breakfast, free wifi and helpful friendly staff! Defenitly wanna come back if I go to San franisco.
  • 94%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Anna
  • The hostel has excellent location and very kind staffs.The atmosphere is also very good.I think it is value for money.
  • 100%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • they are not very friendly...
  • 63%
  • 14 Dec 2014 Anonymous Ecuador
  • There are many homeless people on the streets very close to this hotel, there is definetly a safety issue especially for young adult females traveling alone as I did. I would recommend this hostel that is also located at the Fishermans Wharf location.
  • 63%
  • 26 Oct 2014 linda USA
  • The staff was friendly and made us feel welcomed to San Francisco. I do recommend this hostel for anyone who is traveling through SF.
  • 89%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was great except that staff had some confusion about the luggage rules several people said several different things. It made my departure to the airport quite uncomfortable.
  • 97%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • It is a good hostel, clean and very pleasent to be. The location is bad because of the neighborhood.
  • 77%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Rita Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »