See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 86% from 40 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • great place to stay!
  • 97%
  • 16 Nov 2015 tristen USA
  • The City Center Hostel is located in a great place in San Francisco which allows walking to many tourist attractions. The staff was very friendly and the rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean.
  • 91%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • I was very happy with our Stay at the City Center Hotel. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The kitchen was spacious and clean with ample space to store and prepare food. Breakfast was bagels ans fruit but you could buy scrambled eggs or pancakes for $1. The staff had planned activites in the evening and were helpful in getting us to where we wanted to be. We opted not to rent a car while in the city and used the MUNI pass instead & found it easy to get around.
  • 91%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Ann USA
  • The value you get for you money is outstanding. The only downside was the location.I didn't feel safe going out at night.
  • 89%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • I really enjoyed the stay, the staff was very nice, helpful with everything and every question. Everyone knows perfectly where to go and witch area you should avoid. You can borrow a hair dryer for free. The only thing I would criticize: they only have one type of spread/ jam (besides peanut butter) there for breakfast. I would have liked it if there would be maybe another type of jam or Nutella available. For $1 you can add up to 4 pancakes or up to 4 scrambled eggs -- very good offer!
  • 91%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Pia Germany
  • The staff was "doing their job" without being very helpful or sociable. Some of them seemed annoyed by and almost mocking the clients that had questions. The atmosphere was more hotel-like, and it was hard to socialize (except at the bar).
  • 57%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Great hostel, very clean and great atmosphere! The area is unfortunetly extreamly sketchy. We were 3 girls traveling togethers and did not feel comfortable leaving the hostel at night. There are a lot og drugaddicts in the area and some of them harassed us, which made it uncomfortable to walk in the area. There are certain Streets the hostel recommends that you don't walk down . It is so unfortunate because the hostel is really great. But because of the area I would not recommend it.
  • 80%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Pernille Vad Denmark
  • The only "bad" point is the breakfast. The choices are really minimal.
  • 86%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Anonymous France
  • Our room was squeaky clean, and very comfortable. Most of the staff members were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to give directions and tips for getting to wherever we wished to go. The Chinatown tour with Anthony was an incredibly unique and enriching experience. His knowledge and love of the area enhanced our experience and this tour quickly became one of the highlights of our trip!
  • 89%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Maria USA
  • While the location of the hostel is in a "sketchy" area is sort of a drawback, however, being out of their control, the price, cleanliness, and helpfulness of the staff definitely made my stay in San Francisco a memorable experience. The district the hostel is located in is the Tenderloin, which does have a sizable homeless population, however, since the hostel is also near the city hall a fair amount of policemen patrol the area. Just exercise usual precaution and you'll be fine.
  • 94%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »