See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 80% from 31 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 58%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was great except that staff had some confusion about the luggage rules several people said several different things. It made my departure to the airport quite uncomfortable.
  • 97%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • It is a good hostel, clean and very pleasent to be. The location is bad because of the neighborhood.
  • 77%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Rita Brazil
  • The hostel is in the Tenderloin neighborhood, so you're going to be in the not-so-nice part of town. We weren't very comfortable with that, but you only have to walk a few blocks to get to nicer areas, where you'll be spending most of your time anyway. The hostel itself is perfectly alright. The common area had a really nice atmosphere. The rooms were nice. Some nitpicks were that the mattresses were very soft (you sink into them), my top bunk had no outlet, and there was a bit of street noise.
    Owner Comment

    Hi Alex, The Tenderloin is definitely a bit eccentric, but I'm glad you didn't let that adversely affect your stay here at City Center. As for the mattresses, they are brand-new memory-foam mattresses, but they definitely don't suit everyone! We are always working to improve here, so I really appreciate your detailed feedback. I hope you can stay with us again in the future. Happy Travels! -Mel Assistant General Manager

  • 89%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was an experience for a lifetime. Thank u city center hostel for providing a good atmosphere, great food and nice staff. I would highly recommend to stay there! The only downside is the bad neighborhood.
    Owner Comment

    Hi Attila, Thank YOU for your kind words about our hostel! I'm glad you had a good stay here. As for the neighborhood, it is a bit eccentric, but we are working to involve ourselves in the community to make some positive change here. Come back and stay again soon! Cheers, Mel Assistant General Manager

  • 86%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • it will be a little tired with heavy luggages, but good breakfast and kitchen.near many big point, location is good.
  • 80%
  • 24 Jun 2014 I CHEN Taiwan
  • low price, nice utility, but bad location :'(
  • 66%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I think it is the best hostel, when just considering a facilities. When it comes to security, it sucks because of many homeless around the hostel.
  • 77%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • When I first walked into the hostel, I liked the vibe. The lady with long brown hair was nice. Decorum was good. Internet speed was good. Then it went downhill from there. Things they could have prevented. Like explanation about the bathrooms (only one general single-use one in the entire building), laundry (none), and hostel courtesy rules of behavior (this would be extra, but is relevant when you keep reading). When I first walked into my room, I found the door ajar, which set off my red f
  • 51%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The area is very sketchy but otherwise a very good place to stay. The hostel is close to lots of restaurants that are within walking distance. Rooms were clean, you have your own locker but need to bring own lock, staff were very friendly and helpful, other guests and hostel roommates were nice, free wifi, and breakfast is included. Also, plenty of activities hosted by the hostel like movie night and tours of the city. We only stayed 2 nights so could not participate in these activities.
  • 86%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Even though you're in the middle of the tenderloin I never felt unsafe. The staff keeps an eye on everybody coming in. I got a lot of Information from the staff regarding a trip to big sur. The breakfast is amazing: free bagels, jam, cream cheese, orange Juice, oatmeal, coffee and tea. You Need to pay 1 $ for pancakes and 2$ for pancakes with eggs. Prepared by the chef. The Internet did'nt reach well enough in the rooms but was sufficient in the Lobby. Sometimes troubles with it but overall ok.
  • 89%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Christian Ronald Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »