See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - City Center

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 83% from 26 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 68%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No Parking.
  • 69%
  • 07 Aug 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • The rooms and bathrooms were clean, big lockers for storage. Breakfast was great, able to pay $1 for eggs or pancakes. Bar in the evenings sold $4 beers and a great place to hang and meet people. The location is fine, at first it can be daunting walking down Ellis Street amongst the homeless but we were ignored by them for the most part. Easy enough to walk down Geary Street to Union Square to avoid it tho.
  • 89%
  • 10 Jul 2016 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Hostel was good, location as well. If you're coming with car, there is no free parking, you can park on the street, but you have to wake up early to move your car. Everything else is perfect. Breakfast was good! Beds - comfortable
  • 97%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Ilona Lithuania
  • Overall, it is a very good hostel with a great location (downtown and within proximity to BART and other tourist attractions and stores and eating places), generally friendly staff, clean room and bathroom, attractive interior design, and warm ambiance. The surrounding area, however, made me feel a little nervous as there were very many homeless people (they seemed to take care of their own business, anyway, and I didn't encounter any unexpected occurrence).
  • 80%
  • 07 May 2016 Teguh Amor Indonesia
  • That area of San Francisco made us nervous and we didn't feel comfortable leaving the car unattended. Also the bathroom was incredibly small and the walls were super thin so we could hear everything at night.
  • 46%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Anonymous China
  • I would have preferred being able to drink my own beer instead of having to buy expensively some from the bar. I didn't go there after all.
  • 71%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Anonymous Austria
  • It is a VERY good hostel. Very clean, organized, they have an elevator, nice kitchen, nice common areas. The only thing I did not like it was the location. It is located in the Tenderloin Neighborhood, which is a very dangerous zone. A lot of homeless. I guess if you walk all the time with your friends you will be safe. Other than that the hostel is excellent!
  • 86%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Rocio Colombia
  • great place to stay!
  • 97%
  • 16 Nov 2015 tristen USA
  • The City Center Hostel is located in a great place in San Francisco which allows walking to many tourist attractions. The staff was very friendly and the rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean.
  • 91%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »