See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - City Center

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 83% from 36 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 65%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel was good, location as well. If you're coming with car, there is no free parking, you can park on the street, but you have to wake up early to move your car. Everything else is perfect. Breakfast was good! Beds - comfortable
  • 97%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Ilona Lithuania
  • Overall, it is a very good hostel with a great location (downtown and within proximity to BART and other tourist attractions and stores and eating places), generally friendly staff, clean room and bathroom, attractive interior design, and warm ambiance. The surrounding area, however, made me feel a little nervous as there were very many homeless people (they seemed to take care of their own business, anyway, and I didn't encounter any unexpected occurrence).
  • 80%
  • 07 May 2016 Teguh Amor Indonesia
  • That area of San Francisco made us nervous and we didn't feel comfortable leaving the car unattended. Also the bathroom was incredibly small and the walls were super thin so we could hear everything at night.
  • 46%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Anonymous China
  • I would have preferred being able to drink my own beer instead of having to buy expensively some from the bar. I didn't go there after all.
  • 71%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Anonymous Austria
  • It is a VERY good hostel. Very clean, organized, they have an elevator, nice kitchen, nice common areas. The only thing I did not like it was the location. It is located in the Tenderloin Neighborhood, which is a very dangerous zone. A lot of homeless. I guess if you walk all the time with your friends you will be safe. Other than that the hostel is excellent!
  • 86%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Rocio Colombia
  • great place to stay!
  • 97%
  • 16 Nov 2015 tristen USA
  • The City Center Hostel is located in a great place in San Francisco which allows walking to many tourist attractions. The staff was very friendly and the rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean.
  • 91%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • I was very happy with our Stay at the City Center Hotel. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The kitchen was spacious and clean with ample space to store and prepare food. Breakfast was bagels ans fruit but you could buy scrambled eggs or pancakes for $1. The staff had planned activites in the evening and were helpful in getting us to where we wanted to be. We opted not to rent a car while in the city and used the MUNI pass instead & found it easy to get around.
  • 91%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Ann USA
  • The value you get for you money is outstanding. The only downside was the location.I didn't feel safe going out at night.
  • 89%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • I really enjoyed the stay, the staff was very nice, helpful with everything and every question. Everyone knows perfectly where to go and witch area you should avoid. You can borrow a hair dryer for free. The only thing I would criticize: they only have one type of spread/ jam (besides peanut butter) there for breakfast. I would have liked it if there would be maybe another type of jam or Nutella available. For $1 you can add up to 4 pancakes or up to 4 scrambled eggs -- very good offer!
  • 91%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Pia Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »