See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - City Center

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 82% from 24 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 69%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall we had a great experience. The bar downstairs was really convenient, rooms and common areas were clean, and staff was ultra friendly. I'm not sure how many hidden costs there are with the hostel though. We were charged over $280 when we arrived but the e-mail confirmation said we had a balance of $237.60.
  • 86%
  • 21 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Staff a bit grumpy, some smiles would have been very good.
  • 69%
  • 17 Oct 2016 George Breno Brazil
  • Though the hostel is located in the Tenderloin area, I felt secure at all times. It has access control to all people (only guests allowed inside) and a security guard in front of the door at night. The facilities are clean & great and the atmosphere is very cosy. You just need to know that there is a lot of homeless people on the streets in that area. But if you`re not bothered by that you will enjoy a down-to-the-earth district. Only as single female traveller I might choose another district.
  • 100%
  • 03 Sep 2016 Christiane Germany
  • No Parking.
  • 69%
  • 07 Aug 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • The rooms and bathrooms were clean, big lockers for storage. Breakfast was great, able to pay $1 for eggs or pancakes. Bar in the evenings sold $4 beers and a great place to hang and meet people. The location is fine, at first it can be daunting walking down Ellis Street amongst the homeless but we were ignored by them for the most part. Easy enough to walk down Geary Street to Union Square to avoid it tho.
  • 89%
  • 10 Jul 2016 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Hostel was good, location as well. If you're coming with car, there is no free parking, you can park on the street, but you have to wake up early to move your car. Everything else is perfect. Breakfast was good! Beds - comfortable
  • 97%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Ilona Lithuania
  • Overall, it is a very good hostel with a great location (downtown and within proximity to BART and other tourist attractions and stores and eating places), generally friendly staff, clean room and bathroom, attractive interior design, and warm ambiance. The surrounding area, however, made me feel a little nervous as there were very many homeless people (they seemed to take care of their own business, anyway, and I didn't encounter any unexpected occurrence).
  • 80%
  • 07 May 2016 Teguh Amor Indonesia
  • That area of San Francisco made us nervous and we didn't feel comfortable leaving the car unattended. Also the bathroom was incredibly small and the walls were super thin so we could hear everything at night.
  • 46%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Anonymous China
  • I would have preferred being able to drink my own beer instead of having to buy expensively some from the bar. I didn't go there after all.
  • 71%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Anonymous Austria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »