See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 84% from 91 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall my experience was very positive. The only drawback to the facility was the elevator; you had to hold the button for a very long time and hope that you were able to open the door in time before the elevator went back up. Opening the door in time was either luck or a skill I was unable to master in my four-day stay. Also be weary of the Tenderloin, which is only a block or two away.
  • 80%
  • 20 May 2015 David USA
  • Thank you to all the accommodating and awesome staff! Props to the cleaning ladies! They were so kind and helpful :)
  • 80%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The breakfast was good. The staff were exceptionally patient and helpful.
  • 89%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Rose USA
  • This is the second time I've stayed in this Hostel and would happily go back again and again. The location of this is in the heart of the city and nearby to all the great areas of SF. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms, we stayed in a private room this time and I've stayed in a four bed female dorm, and both rooms were great. The private rooms are super cute, as we saw some of the newly painted rooms as well. The shared bathroom and individual showers are kept very clean.
  • 91%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Lisa USA
  • I spent 5 nights there. Staffs are friendly and helpful. It is located in center of city, so it is good to travel and go for a jog along the piers. The facility is clean and tidy. Just one poor point is that Wifi is a little bit weak around the Living roon on 2nd room.However, it is valuable hostels for stay.
  • 80%
  • 05 Feb 2015 Yohei Japan
  • The location is handy to get to from the airport, and has a lot of amenities nearby, but it didn't give me a very good experience of San Francisco. The Tenderloin is full of homeless, and it can be quite frightening. In hindsight I think I should have stayed in the North Beach area.The facilities were fine, but the bathroom in the dorm wasn't particularly clean, and the door was really hard to open and close (also very loud). I wouldn't stay here again.
  • 60%
  • 04 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • best hostel i've ever stayed in
  • 94%
  • 31 Jan 2015 pedro Brazil
  • PROs: good location, nice communal spaces good for getting to know other travelers. CONs: old facilities, smelly, moldy dorm rooms, funky smelly beds, old stained bed linens, dilapidated building, impersonal front desk, aggressive homeless people near building, general lack of cleanliness that is subversively marketed as "bohemian", rooms are hot and stuffy in winter, large windows are hard to open and if you do manage to pry one open there is no guardrail to prevent drunken accidents.
  • 51%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We loved staying there. The location i perfect and the place is so cosy. Staff very friendly. The only but was no free parking! Recomment this place to everybody :-)
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Ida Denmark
  • The staff at the front desk could have been nicer and more informative. The place is clean and seems secure. It seems you have to buy their lock to use the locker. I recommend buying your own small lock.
  • 63%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Ricky USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »