See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 85% from 85 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The employees were really nice, and it was very clean. I definitely recommend this place.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Sandra Mexico
  • Only compliant was loud noise from the street. White noise machines in the future would be helpful as would be fans.
  • 80%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staffs were very welcoming and sweet. The kitchen and the lounge were quite small for its size though. Except for that, it was fairly good for a hostel. Also, the atmosphere was very lively and good. Want to come back to this hostel very much!
  • 86%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • When you see you this place, you won't think it's a hostel. You'll be certain it's a hotel. This place was fantastic. My fiance and I stayed in a private suite and absolutely loved it. The closet with spacious. The bathroom was perfect. We had everything we needed and more. The staff was polite. Overall, it had a wonderful environment. Yes, it is on the edge of the Tenderloin, but I never felt unsafe walking back to the hostel, even at night. I highly, highly recommend this place!
  • 94%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Overall my experience was very positive. The only drawback to the facility was the elevator; you had to hold the button for a very long time and hope that you were able to open the door in time before the elevator went back up. Opening the door in time was either luck or a skill I was unable to master in my four-day stay. Also be weary of the Tenderloin, which is only a block or two away.
  • 80%
  • 20 May 2015 David USA
  • Thank you to all the accommodating and awesome staff! Props to the cleaning ladies! They were so kind and helpful :)
  • 80%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The breakfast was good. The staff were exceptionally patient and helpful.
  • 89%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Rose USA
  • This is the second time I've stayed in this Hostel and would happily go back again and again. The location of this is in the heart of the city and nearby to all the great areas of SF. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms, we stayed in a private room this time and I've stayed in a four bed female dorm, and both rooms were great. The private rooms are super cute, as we saw some of the newly painted rooms as well. The shared bathroom and individual showers are kept very clean.
  • 91%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Lisa USA
  • I spent 5 nights there. Staffs are friendly and helpful. It is located in center of city, so it is good to travel and go for a jog along the piers. The facility is clean and tidy. Just one poor point is that Wifi is a little bit weak around the Living roon on 2nd room.However, it is valuable hostels for stay.
  • 80%
  • 05 Feb 2015 Yohei Japan
  • The location is handy to get to from the airport, and has a lot of amenities nearby, but it didn't give me a very good experience of San Francisco. The Tenderloin is full of homeless, and it can be quite frightening. In hindsight I think I should have stayed in the North Beach area.The facilities were fine, but the bathroom in the dorm wasn't particularly clean, and the door was really hard to open and close (also very loud). I wouldn't stay here again.
  • 60%
  • 04 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »