See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 86% from 102 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The best place to stay when visiting San Francisco. It's around the corner from union square which means you're at the heart of it all. You have a choice of super markets, trader joes target etc. A big wallgreens and you are right beside macys etc. Breakfast is great as are the doorms. Super charging facilities. There isna socket and reading light for each bed.
  • 100%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • By far the best hostel I stayed in so far. The beds are specifically designed for hostels - each has individual light and plenty of charging slots (both outlet and USB) - the mattresses are very comfortable. The free breakfast and common areas are great! The hostel is located in the downtown area and is close to all major attractions
  • 100%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was great, the staff was more friendly than most hotels I've attended! I would definitely consider coming back since I'm on a strict budget while traveling.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Miguel USA
  • electrical outlets are very poor. I used two kinds of room. one is for 4 people. other one is for 2 people. I loved to stay in the room for two. but hated the room for 4. it was smelly. It smelled like somebody vomited. housekeepers just clean trash bins. no vacuuming. the staff are not that kind. location is great. facilities are good.
  • 66%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Location is so good that I dont feel inclnvient to go any attraction. St the same time located in down, it is so noisy.. but im happy with their service and facility
  • 80%
  • 08 Jul 2014 GYEONGGEUN South Korea
  • No complaints! This hostel was extremely comfortable. I really appreciated the private bathrooms for each room.
  • 97%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Good location and friendly, helpfull staff.
  • 83%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • some staff are not friendly, breakfast bagels everyday, shower water a little small. noisy. however, location is very good.
  • 69%
  • 28 Jun 2014 I CHEN Taiwan
  • Try to be a bit more ambitious with the breakfast, but it's free so I shouldn't really complain but eating bagels every morning was a bit bland.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Oliver Sweden
  • Nice and friendly staff. Only bagels for breakfast. Clean showers and bathrooms.
  • 77%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »