See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 85% from 114 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good location and friendly, helpfull staff.
  • 83%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • some staff are not friendly, breakfast bagels everyday, shower water a little small. noisy. however, location is very good.
  • 69%
  • 28 Jun 2014 I CHEN Taiwan
  • Try to be a bit more ambitious with the breakfast, but it's free so I shouldn't really complain but eating bagels every morning was a bit bland.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Oliver Sweden
  • Nice and friendly staff. Only bagels for breakfast. Clean showers and bathrooms.
  • 77%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • I was most impressed overall. It was in a great location. Th staff were very helpful and the room and facilites very good. Also there were events and activies organised to enjoy each day/night if your werent as tired as me.
  • 100%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Sandra New Zealand
  • The staff were very welcoming and helpful. I especially liked the fact that the staff consistently asked to see guest passes upon reentering the hostel. My room, restroom, and shower were clean. Breakfast was good. The daily events were a bonus and appealed to a variety of guests. The location was outstanding, very close to public transportation. The building was dated, but the other features and price outweighed the old building.
  • 91%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Karen USA
  • Hostel is located in the middle of everything (downtown). Clean facilities. Enjoyed my dtay here and highly recommend it!
  • 97%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • location is very good, although we were missing private bathroom. In general it's ok and good value for money for SF
  • 71%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Great place! Nice staff! The bagels at breakfast was excellent!
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2014 David Sweden
  • This place was awesome, so close to everything. Great facilities, friendly staff and so helpful with answering questions and booking stuff. Would definitely stay again!
  • 100%
  • 28 May 2014 Holly New Zealand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »