See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 86% from 106 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was most impressed overall. It was in a great location. Th staff were very helpful and the room and facilites very good. Also there were events and activies organised to enjoy each day/night if your werent as tired as me.
  • 100%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Sandra New Zealand
  • The staff were very welcoming and helpful. I especially liked the fact that the staff consistently asked to see guest passes upon reentering the hostel. My room, restroom, and shower were clean. Breakfast was good. The daily events were a bonus and appealed to a variety of guests. The location was outstanding, very close to public transportation. The building was dated, but the other features and price outweighed the old building.
  • 91%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Karen USA
  • Hostel is located in the middle of everything (downtown). Clean facilities. Enjoyed my dtay here and highly recommend it!
  • 97%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • location is very good, although we were missing private bathroom. In general it's ok and good value for money for SF
  • 71%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Great place! Nice staff! The bagels at breakfast was excellent!
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2014 David Sweden
  • This place was awesome, so close to everything. Great facilities, friendly staff and so helpful with answering questions and booking stuff. Would definitely stay again!
  • 100%
  • 28 May 2014 Holly New Zealand
  • A good hostel located in a great area.
  • 83%
  • 24 May 2014 Chiehmin
  • The staff was helpful and fun. The atmosphere was full of energy and excitement. I appreciated the quality breakfast and events.
  • 97%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • For sure I would stay there again. Excellent location, just some blocks from Union Square and it has a really friendly staff.
  • 100%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • A good central location downtown, and a good value for expensive SF. Only downside is you have to walk through the sketchy areas of downtown to get there, but the facility itself felt very safe. Staff and all the other travelers I met there were very friendly.
  • 83%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »