See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 84% from 84 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff at the front desk could have been nicer and more informative. The place is clean and seems secure. It seems you have to buy their lock to use the locker. I recommend buying your own small lock.
  • 63%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Ricky USA
  • Convenient location, good service.
  • 100%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Anonymous China
  • generally is is a good hostel, good location、good service、reasonable price, but i found the price is little higher than I book the room on website.
  • 83%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The location of the hostel is really great, and the rooms are nice. However, when I came back to the hostel after checking out to ask the staff a few questions, whoever was working at that time treated me with a decent amount of rudeness and even asked me if I was homeless. It was incredibly inappropriate for someone that works in customer service and additional not a smart way to treat a customer. I was going to right a nicer review but his rudeness was too much.
    Owner Comment

    I am truly sorry and embarassed that this happened at our facility and absolutely agree with you that this was unacceptable behavior. I hope that your time in San Francisco was not clouded by this incident. We are usually very proud of our track record of providing a wonderful experience. Please accept my apologies for our failure in this instance. I will be reaching out to you directly for more details on this event to ensure this remains and isolated incident. Sincerely, Mike Foyder - GM

  • 54%
  • 08 Dec 2014 Allison USA
  • Adjusting the heat on the rooms could be useful: it has been very hot at night.
  • 91%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous France
  • Great location and decent private room for the cost. The room didn't circulate air well, though, which meant that the room got very hot at night.
  • 86%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Cassarah USA
  • Loved my stay.
  • 100%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Bodo Germany
  • Very friendly staff and nice rooms. Really a good place. I was just confused by the way the shower works - but that is probably only because showers in the US are just not comparable to any other shower I know elsewhere.. :-)
  • 97%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The hostel itself is really nice and clean. The 4 bed all girls room was big and had its own bathroom. We had a really nice stay and would only have to say positive things about this hostel if the staff would have been friendlier and more helpful when my friend forgot her jacket in the room. She never got a response to her emails and still hasn't gotten her jacket back.
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Jorina Germany
  • Fantastic housekeeping staff and great improvements to the facilities since my last stay a few years ago. Front desk staff is good, and security has improved much. The area is still dodgy, but the hostel addressed many of the issues (Security, staff, atmosphere) that were lacking--only drag is the lockers under the bed which are inconvenient. Good value for the money.
  • 86%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »