See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 86% from 106 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The entire stay was overall excellent. The only suggestions I have would be to have a couple of different options for the breakfast. However, don't want to sound ungrateful as the free breakfast was very much appreciated! There were not very many options if you are trying to eat gluten free, since the breakfast centered around bagels. I suppose I could have purchased my own food and prepared it in the kitchen on my own. Also, the hallways were very noisy throughout the night.
  • 91%
  • 01 May 2014 Peter USA
  • Staff were really helpful, always a great vibe in the hostel! Security was very good as well.
  • 91%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • Great location and staff. Toilets with the sinks on top were a bit awkward, however I can appreciate their purpose and sinks were included within the rooms so it was no problem. Only complaint was that the rooms got warm very quickly with four people and we were unable to open a window for ventilation.
  • 91%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The only nusance was that old elevator with its quirks. But an elevator is a luxury anyway, so no biggie.
  • 91%
  • 20 Apr 2014 thierry Switzerland
  • A fantastic place! Just the usual disturbance issues associated with people entering the dorms at night; bright lights or complete darkness are the only options. Ear plugs are essential and free from the front desk. The bunk beds wobble and squeak like crazy.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Dean England
  • A very good stay, clean rooms and great staff. Only complaints would be that it was fairly loud at night with the noise of the traffic outside and from other guests staying up late and every shower on the 4th and 5th floor seemed to be cold. I didn't have one warm shower in the 3 nights we stayed.
  • 91%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Alexander England
  • Water not hot 3 out of 4 days.
  • 77%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Not good breakfast
  • 66%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Some of the staff were not so friendly.
  • 80%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Best location!!!
  • 77%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Malin Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »