See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 84% from 83 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Windows didnt lock in two of the private rooms, but we ended up staying in one of them because we didnt have other options. We ended up packing one of the suitcases and left it behind the reception because of this. Water pressure of the shower was very weak and it took five mins for the water to heat up. Elevator buttons were tricky and really annoying (however, they informed about it). Heater didnt work so the room was really cold. On the bright side location was awesome.
  • 66%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • Hostel is very well located, which turns out important when you consider that getting around in San Francisco is not exactly easy. Ambiance was nice, but showers and restrooms were clearly undercleaned in my opinion. If you have 2 bathrooms on a 25-room-floor, cleaning them only once a day may not suffice!
  • 71%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Good location although the districts nearby are slightly dodgy! But perfect location for transit and shopping. Quite a busy hostel but it's not really a party hostel, the lounge is quite quiet at times. Rooms back onto main streets which are often busier at night than in the day so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Hostel feels very recently renovated!
  • 77%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • The breakfast was cleared away before 10am both mornings we ventured down there. The windows in rooms didn't lock and this would void travel insurance.
  • 51%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Siobhan England
  • We really enjoyed staying at this hostel. It was clean, decent location and had a friendly atmosphere. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.
  • 89%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Penelope Australia
  • Nice hostel, no complaints. Maybe cleanliness could be better, the shower was a bit dirty. Breakfast was nice, though eating bagels for a week is not good for my stomach. Not a party hostel, atleast out dorm was very peaceful which is a good thing.
  • 80%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Staff is great,very helpfull.Some doors needs to be fixed in order to close without the need of pulling them.Very nice stay in general.
  • 89%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • The staff is friendly and the location is very safe.
  • 100%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The best place to stay when visiting San Francisco. It's around the corner from union square which means you're at the heart of it all. You have a choice of super markets, trader joes target etc. A big wallgreens and you are right beside macys etc. Breakfast is great as are the doorms. Super charging facilities. There isna socket and reading light for each bed.
  • 100%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • By far the best hostel I stayed in so far. The beds are specifically designed for hostels - each has individual light and plenty of charging slots (both outlet and USB) - the mattresses are very comfortable. The free breakfast and common areas are great! The hostel is located in the downtown area and is close to all major attractions
  • 100%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »