See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 85% from 122 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place was awesome, so close to everything. Great facilities, friendly staff and so helpful with answering questions and booking stuff. Would definitely stay again!
  • 100%
  • 28 May 2014 Holly New Zealand
  • A good hostel located in a great area.
  • 83%
  • 24 May 2014 Chiehmin
  • The staff was helpful and fun. The atmosphere was full of energy and excitement. I appreciated the quality breakfast and events.
  • 97%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • For sure I would stay there again. Excellent location, just some blocks from Union Square and it has a really friendly staff.
  • 100%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • A good central location downtown, and a good value for expensive SF. Only downside is you have to walk through the sketchy areas of downtown to get there, but the facility itself felt very safe. Staff and all the other travelers I met there were very friendly.
  • 83%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The entire stay was overall excellent. The only suggestions I have would be to have a couple of different options for the breakfast. However, don't want to sound ungrateful as the free breakfast was very much appreciated! There were not very many options if you are trying to eat gluten free, since the breakfast centered around bagels. I suppose I could have purchased my own food and prepared it in the kitchen on my own. Also, the hallways were very noisy throughout the night.
  • 91%
  • 01 May 2014 Peter USA
  • Staff were really helpful, always a great vibe in the hostel! Security was very good as well.
  • 91%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • Great location and staff. Toilets with the sinks on top were a bit awkward, however I can appreciate their purpose and sinks were included within the rooms so it was no problem. Only complaint was that the rooms got warm very quickly with four people and we were unable to open a window for ventilation.
  • 91%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The only nusance was that old elevator with its quirks. But an elevator is a luxury anyway, so no biggie.
  • 91%
  • 20 Apr 2014 thierry Switzerland
  • A fantastic place! Just the usual disturbance issues associated with people entering the dorms at night; bright lights or complete darkness are the only options. Ear plugs are essential and free from the front desk. The bunk beds wobble and squeak like crazy.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Dean England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »