See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 86% from 102 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very clean and modern, staff were friendly and helpful and had discount leaflets for bike rentals. The hostel is in a fantastic location just around the corner from a tram stop and is in a safe area. Would definitely recommend!
  • 100%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • It is a great place to stay. Very convenient to BAR(metro) and easy to get around. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is very clean and public areas including theater and lounge are nice decorated. People are very nice to each other here. Will definitely recommend. The downside is the rooms facing the street are probably hearing a lot of noise at night.
  • 97%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Really good Deal!! no doubt to come back here again!
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Daniel Colombia
  • This is a super clean hostel with in a great location. Staff are pretty average, but hey who's ever excited to be at work. Free breakfast was awesome! Beds were comfy and the building felt very safe. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 80%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Lauren Australia
  • It's a good hostel, but I had some problems.
  • 63%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It's a good hostel, but I had some small issues.
  • 63%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The staff were incredible - friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The hostel was clean and comfortable.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Patricia USA
  • I was a little disappointed with having guests in my room which were quite a bit older than I am so it was very conducive to making new friendships. But otherwise, I had a good stay.
  • 80%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Carlo Canada
  • Location location had a lovely 1 week stay met loads of cool people. Will recommend
  • 89%
  • 10 Jan 2014 sarah Wales
  • superb location easy and safe to walk to cable cars and bus. i stayed in private room so a bit pricy and i wish they had a room with single bed. Expensive to use internet,£2 for 20mins. and kitchen closed at 10pm.
  • 74%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Anonymous Thailand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »