See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 85% from 121 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A very good stay, clean rooms and great staff. Only complaints would be that it was fairly loud at night with the noise of the traffic outside and from other guests staying up late and every shower on the 4th and 5th floor seemed to be cold. I didn't have one warm shower in the 3 nights we stayed.
  • 91%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Alexander England
  • Water not hot 3 out of 4 days.
  • 77%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Not good breakfast
  • 66%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Some of the staff were not so friendly.
  • 80%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Best location!!!
  • 77%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Malin Sweden
  • Very clean and modern, staff were friendly and helpful and had discount leaflets for bike rentals. The hostel is in a fantastic location just around the corner from a tram stop and is in a safe area. Would definitely recommend!
  • 100%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • It is a great place to stay. Very convenient to BAR(metro) and easy to get around. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is very clean and public areas including theater and lounge are nice decorated. People are very nice to each other here. Will definitely recommend. The downside is the rooms facing the street are probably hearing a lot of noise at night.
  • 97%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Really good Deal!! no doubt to come back here again!
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Daniel Colombia
  • This is a super clean hostel with in a great location. Staff are pretty average, but hey who's ever excited to be at work. Free breakfast was awesome! Beds were comfy and the building felt very safe. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 80%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Lauren Australia
  • It's a good hostel, but I had some problems.
  • 63%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »