See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 86% from 102 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best hostels I've ever been to and definitely THE place to stay while in San Francisco!
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Eva Germany
  • Overall a pleasant experience, but there were a number of niggling issues that bothered me, such as no milk for tea/coffee outside of breakfast hours, only two washing machines, and the only iron available required a US$5 deposit and you were provided with a "travelling" ironing board, which was next to useless. Other than that, they organise daily and nightly activities which were decent. Not a bad place, though I don't think it provided best value for money.
  • 80%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • It was nice experience
  • 80%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous China
  • I LOVE SAN FRANCISCO HOSTEL, STAFF WERE VERY NICE PEOPLE ALSO THE KITCHEN STAFF VERY VERY NICE. THE LOCATION, ATMOSPHERE, FACILITIES AND LOCATION EVERYTHING WERE FUN THANK THE WHOLE STAFF.
  • 100%
  • 27 Dec 2013 erika USA
  • Good location, sufficient maintainance, and lots of great events going on. Definitely I will recommend this place for my friends if they ask where they should stay in San Francisco!
  • 91%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • Good location and nice staff.
  • 77%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • This was my first trip to SF. The location was convenient and prime if you're into shopping. Listed below are my thoughts. CONS -Did not have ice to provide to guest, referred me to buy ice next door. -Room was hot, I had to leave the window open the entire time I was there. Would suggest having a built in fan. -Homeless people were everywhere, this deterred me from eatting at local restaurants. PROS -Great location for Union Square -Can't beat the price -Cute restrooms -Enjoyed breakfast
  • 83%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms and bathroom were clean and well kept. However, the atmosphere was dull and boring and there was nothing exciting happening. This place is good if you just want a bed to sleep in but it's definitely not the place to meet people or get assistance with what to do/where to go.
  • 60%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • My daughter and I stayed in one of the private, 2 bed, rooms. Basic accommodations, but the atmosphere, staff, and other guests were great. Enjoyed the breakfast. I wouldn't recommend walking around alone at night, but that goes for most inner cities. Loved being within walking distance to China Town, and, even better, City Lights Bookstore. If you drove, make sure to ask the staff about recommendations as to where to park your car.
  • 86%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Peter Canada
  • Very nice hostel, really good price and location, close distance to many places of interest. Staff is very friendly and rooms are clean and well-equiped.
  • 89%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »