See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 85% from 117 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's a good hostel, but I had some small issues.
  • 63%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The staff were incredible - friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The hostel was clean and comfortable.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Patricia USA
  • I was a little disappointed with having guests in my room which were quite a bit older than I am so it was very conducive to making new friendships. But otherwise, I had a good stay.
  • 80%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Carlo Canada
  • Location location had a lovely 1 week stay met loads of cool people. Will recommend
  • 89%
  • 10 Jan 2014 sarah Wales
  • superb location easy and safe to walk to cable cars and bus. i stayed in private room so a bit pricy and i wish they had a room with single bed. Expensive to use internet,£2 for 20mins. and kitchen closed at 10pm.
  • 74%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • One of the best hostels I've ever been to and definitely THE place to stay while in San Francisco!
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Eva Germany
  • Overall a pleasant experience, but there were a number of niggling issues that bothered me, such as no milk for tea/coffee outside of breakfast hours, only two washing machines, and the only iron available required a US$5 deposit and you were provided with a "travelling" ironing board, which was next to useless. Other than that, they organise daily and nightly activities which were decent. Not a bad place, though I don't think it provided best value for money.
  • 80%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • It was nice experience
  • 80%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous China
  • I LOVE SAN FRANCISCO HOSTEL, STAFF WERE VERY NICE PEOPLE ALSO THE KITCHEN STAFF VERY VERY NICE. THE LOCATION, ATMOSPHERE, FACILITIES AND LOCATION EVERYTHING WERE FUN THANK THE WHOLE STAFF.
  • 100%
  • 27 Dec 2013 erika USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »