See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 86% from 105 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Matress and pillows are too thin, and the breakfast is only ok. However, location is perfect!
  • 89%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • central location, friendly and helpful staff, good equipped kitchen and tasty breakfast dorms were small but ok, musty smell in the staircase but clean the shower was difficult to handle and water not really warm I would stay here again!
  • 83%
  • 19 Nov 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • the elevator wasn't working and we were at the sixth floor!
  • 97%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Chile
  • Nice hostel, good bagel breakfast and close to everything. Recommend it for a few days.
  • 83%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Anonymous Colombia
  • Surpassed my expectations. The suite private room had its own bathroom which was so nice. Very cozy and convenient.
  • 94%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Joy USA
  • This was a good location and the facility was well run.
  • 100%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Perfect location and good price. It a good choice for solo travelers. Safe and not expensive.
  • 83%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Clean, next to union square, friendly! The only i didn't understood, i booked a room for 2 persons just for myself. But when i asked for invite an other person in my room was a problem for the staff and they didn't accept.
  • 89%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Mirjam
  • Stayed Sunday-Friday in a big room with six beds and thought it was great, nice people and not noisy or hard to sleep. There was some noise from the street but not bad, though some fellow guests said it was a bit worse on the weekend. The hostel give out free earplugs - probably for this very reason - but I never had to use them. They have a nice little TV/movie room and everything was great - I'll definitely consider staying here again next time I'm in SF.
  • 100%
  • 06 Oct 2013 Christian Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »