See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Downtown

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 88% from 47 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice stay! They have different event everyday, great breakfast and friendly staffs.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jun 2016 Anonymous China
  • Loved the location, large comfy rooms (we were in 617) and friendly staff
    Owner Comment

    So glad you loved all these things about us! Thank you!

  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • not as welcoming as it once was in the past, I'll consider a different company next time
  • 71%
  • 12 Apr 2016 NANCY USA
  • Great place! Cozy, chill and cool
  • 100%
  • 20 Mar 2016 Oda Marie Norway
  • This hostel is in a great location near Union Square. The staff was very helpful with my room questions and general San Francisco questions. Good roommates in the dorm.
  • 97%
  • 04 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Best Hostel in SF. No doubts.
  • 100%
  • 28 Nov 2015 João Paulo Brazil
  • The staff were super nice and helpful. The room was alright, it was nothing fancy, but worked well. One thing I found myself missing in the room though was a chair or two. The neighborhood looks a little rough with quite a lot of homeless which made me not want to walk outside very late as a solo female traveler. Though I'm sure most are harmless. Otherwise the location is really good, only a 5 minute (or less) walk from the Powell Street with the cable car turnabout and great shopping.
  • 74%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • The location right in downtown is great! The room was rather small but everything looked well taken care of. The staff is friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. I would stay there again.
  • 83%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • My friend and I liked very much the Hostel . Excelent location, clean, with many facilities and etc. We had hosted in a private room for 2 persons. The only thing that I need to complain is the lack of a FAN. It was so HOT inside the room. It was almost impossible to stay in there and very uncomfortable to sleep.
  • 83%
  • 06 Sep 2015 ANTONIO Brazil
  • This is a very nice hostel that has been upgraded in the rooms since I last stayed a few years ago. A nice feature is a power strip with lamp above each bed. The hostel's location is great being near Union Square and downtown area which is easily accessible to public transportation.
  • 100%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »