See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Downtown

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 88% from 28 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, best wifi ever! Perfect location
  • 89%
  • 22 Mar 2017 Claudia Brazil
  • Actually one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Everything is well organized & clean. Really perfect value for money.
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2017 Anonymous Egypt
  • Strategic location. Do not forget to bring your own padlock. Good for traveller who just want to rest. Light off around 23.00 Easier for me to use google maps to understand public transportation. Sufficient breakfast. Overall value for money hostel and I am very satisfied.
  • 91%
  • 05 Feb 2017 Anonymous Indonesia
  • At first my floor didn't seem like it had enough bathrooms or showers but I never actually had to wait for one so that was ok afterall. I do think you guys need more mirrors and sinks based on the number of women I saw applying hair and makeup sitiing in front of those huge mirrors in the hall. I dobt think you need more bathrooms, just if you found an odd spot or two on each floor and put up a few mirrors with counters and maybe an outlet.
  • 97%
  • 09 Jan 2017 Rebekah USA
  • Too many people for breakfast, no place to seat down
  • 89%
  • 23 Dec 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • It was a really good experience to stay there. Place is super close to everything and facilities are nice. Staff is very helpful. If I come back to San Francisco again I will definitely stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 11 Dec 2016 Anonymous Turkey
  • As a woman traveling alone, I felt very safe here and I had a great time. The staff was awesome. It's a quirky hostel with good amenities. Everything feels really clean and it was an easy environment to meet people in.
  • 97%
  • 08 Nov 2016 Amanda USA
  • The best of the best, keep up the good work!
  • 100%
  • 25 Oct 2016 Anonymous Belgium
  • Very good
  • 80%
  • 19 Sep 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • The Bad: the hostel is located close to a neighborhood called Tenderloin, which is the worst area in SF. Another thing I didn't like was the odor of the carpet in the rooms. The Good: this place has nice instalations, social areas, group activities all week and good quality breakfast.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear about the issue with the carpet you described, as well as your discomfort with our location. We will certainly look into the carpet in your room. This is something which is clearly not up to our standards! I am happy to hear you still enjoyed the other aspects of your stay. We appreciate the feedback! -Sincerely, Michael Foyder, GM

  • 80%
  • 14 Sep 2016 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »