See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Downtown

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 88% from 27 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Bathroom window would not close. Overall it was really nice
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I enjoyed my stay at HI San Francisco Downtown. I was there for the San Francisco marathon and it was close to everything and super affordable. My roomies were pretty cool and I thought it was very good value for the money I paid.
  • 77%
  • 22 Jul 2017 Anonymous Mexico
  • the rooms are tiny for 4 peoples. the water in the shower are to slowly.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your feedback and bringing that slow shower to our attention! I apologize if the room was not spacious enough. We have several different room layouts, some of them larger than others. -Mike

  • 94%
  • 17 Jun 2017 Eli Israel
  • Nice place, great location... the rooms are prety small.
  • 80%
  • 01 May 2017 Anonymous Argentina
  • Great hostel, best wifi ever! Perfect location
  • 89%
  • 22 Mar 2017 Claudia Brazil
  • Actually one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Everything is well organized & clean. Really perfect value for money.
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2017 Anonymous Egypt
  • Strategic location. Do not forget to bring your own padlock. Good for traveller who just want to rest. Light off around 23.00 Easier for me to use google maps to understand public transportation. Sufficient breakfast. Overall value for money hostel and I am very satisfied.
  • 91%
  • 05 Feb 2017 Anonymous Indonesia
  • At first my floor didn't seem like it had enough bathrooms or showers but I never actually had to wait for one so that was ok afterall. I do think you guys need more mirrors and sinks based on the number of women I saw applying hair and makeup sitiing in front of those huge mirrors in the hall. I dobt think you need more bathrooms, just if you found an odd spot or two on each floor and put up a few mirrors with counters and maybe an outlet.
  • 97%
  • 09 Jan 2017 Rebekah USA
  • Too many people for breakfast, no place to seat down
  • 89%
  • 23 Dec 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • It was a really good experience to stay there. Place is super close to everything and facilities are nice. Staff is very helpful. If I come back to San Francisco again I will definitely stay there again.
  • 91%
  • 11 Dec 2016 Anonymous Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »