See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Downtown

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 90% from 30 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good
  • 80%
  • 19 Sep 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • The Bad: the hostel is located close to a neighborhood called Tenderloin, which is the worst area in SF. Another thing I didn't like was the odor of the carpet in the rooms. The Good: this place has nice instalations, social areas, group activities all week and good quality breakfast.
  • 80%
  • 14 Sep 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • All is good at this hostel. I stayed here a few times and it is really comfortable. The rooms are clean, comfortable & modern with at least a sink, mirror and water for the basic bunk bed rooms. Nice to be able to charge electronic devices at your bed with a nice built-in shelf to lay the devices on. A secure cage under the beds to lock your things. Free breakfast that is actually good enough to get the day started. Location is really convenient near Union Square, food and transportation.
  • 100%
  • 04 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nice and confertable place to stay!! Room has decent space and big windows.
  • 80%
  • 27 Aug 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Nothing to envy on the (much more) expensive hotels nearby! We had a room with two beds and an ensuite. Everything was spotless, room was fairly big and it came with towels. Breakfast in the morning was perfectly acceptable, and there were a ton of walking tours/activities one could take part in if one wanted (we didn't but were spoilt for choice). Was also very quiet.
  • 97%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Natacha France
  • Nice stay! They have different event everyday, great breakfast and friendly staffs.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jun 2016 Anonymous China
  • Loved the location, large comfy rooms (we were in 617) and friendly staff
    Owner Comment

    So glad you loved all these things about us! Thank you!

  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • not as welcoming as it once was in the past, I'll consider a different company next time
  • 71%
  • 12 Apr 2016 NANCY USA
  • Great place! Cozy, chill and cool
  • 100%
  • 20 Mar 2016 Oda Marie Norway
  • This hostel is in a great location near Union Square. The staff was very helpful with my room questions and general San Francisco questions. Good roommates in the dorm.
  • 97%
  • 04 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »