See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 86% from 63 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good place to stay on a short weekend trip
  • 80%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • There could be some better lighting at night outside, especially coming up the hill in the back, closest to the bay. That may not be the Hostel's property, but it has no lighting at all.
  • 89%
  • 26 Apr 2015 John USA
  • I stayed at this hostel back in 1983, then brought my family 33 years later on a trip to California in April 2015. It was outstanding both times. Great cafe with tremendous views of the Golden Gate and Alcatraz. Awesome great room where a couple travelers played piano and guitar while we listened and played chess. Travelers from all over. My wife and our 16 and 13 year olds enjoyed it very much.
  • 100%
  • 07 Apr 2015 John USA
  • I loved staying at Fort Mason! Great staff, comfortable beds, great facility, awesome location. The only thing I would have wanted more of was power outlets.
  • 97%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Ruth USA
  • This place is excellent if you love being woken up twice at night by firearms, walking a significant distance from where you park, and less than mediocre breakfast. The only thing going for this place is location.
  • 54%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed at anywhere.
  • 100%
  • 16 Mar 2015 James USA
  • I reached airport midnight,so I contacted the staff to ask the way to the hostel by telephone. I worried if I couldn't contact to the staff I lost way to the hostel.But the staff taught me the way very kindly. Sometimes I contacted to ask the way,I could reach the hostel. I thought the staff is very kind and the hostel is very clean.In that time I couldn't stay for long time. Next time I want to stay long.
  • 86%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous
  • This Hostel was fantastic! Super clean and at a beautiful location. Very quite! However if you want to party this is not the place. I had a lot of older women in my room that went to bed at 9 and got up at 6am! Also it's far from the city center but you can take the bus into town which was ok. There is a great walkway to pier 39 and the hostel has a beautiful view of the harbor.
  • 100%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • What a nice location and an old building with high ceelings. Even a welcoming fire at late night. I appreiciated the organic fruits and coffee. That was super!
  • 94%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Minna Finland
  • Very nice staff. This was my first time staying at a hostel, just needed a dry place to stay, get cleaned up and sleep while riding my motorcycle home from the northern coast. Parking was not as close as I would like, but hey, it's San francisco!
  • 89%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Bryant USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »