See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 87% from 44 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It had been years since I have stayed in a hostel. I thought I was too old. Not at all. There were people of all ages. I shared a Quad room with two young women. One kept entirely to herself. The other was friendly and we had breakfast together. The common area was lively but most people were absorbed in their laptops. The bar/caffe was quite lovely but I did feel a bit old in there. Bed was comfortable. Nice view of Alcatraz from our room. Easy beautiful walk along the shore to the Golden Gate.
  • 89%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was the second time we stayed at this Hostel. Great location and wonderful staff. We signed up for me Mission District Tour and out tour guide was wonderful (young lady with dark long hair) She was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. We defiantly will return to this Hostel. WE had a group of 4 from age 18 to 60!
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Petra USA
  • Communal bathrooms could use some remodeling. Kitchen was amazing.
  • 91%
  • 06 Nov 2014 Gregg USA
  • I loved the convenience and easy access to the wharf, but I especially Loved being able to meet people from all over the world!!! I had great roomies and made fabulous new friends!!! I would go back there again if I went back to San Francisco :-D
  • 100%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Bethany USA
  • I thought this was an excellent place to stay in San Francisco. It's a little bit outside the main downtown area, but actually that adds to its appeal, because it's quiet at night, and there is free (first come first served) parking, which is super awesome! The room was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. We also each got a big, lockable drawer to store valuables in, oh and did I mention the free breakfast?? Loved it.
  • 100%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Laura New Zealand
  • Staff is very kindly. Excellent! Mattress is uncomfortable.
  • 94%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • very good
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2014 jaeyong South Korea
  • Awesome location
  • 97%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Laura Canada
  • This hostel is at a great location, if you like water. Near by is a little beach and the historic port. A lot of rooms have bay view. It is located in a park so you have a nice green spot if you want to relax. The only bottleneck is that it is booked out so fast. It is very well organized and has great stuff.
  • 97%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Perfect hostel, very nice staff and great for meeting new people. Can recommend the pub-crawl
  • 94%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »