See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 84% from 57 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved this hostel! I really liked the overall atmosphere - such a historic building and it just felt great and had an energy of providing a great not-for-profit service to assist people with seeing the world. There was a wide range of ages there, which I appreciated since I am somewhat older. The Cafe Franco is excellent - inexpensive organic food at amazing prices - breakfast is free of course! The views of the water, peaceful surroundings and free parking were all so welcome.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Jenine Canada
  • I really enjoyed my stay here!
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice staff and a safe area, but pretty boring part of San Francisco. The pictures doesnt tell the true story about the hostel. If you want a pretty cheap hostel with proximity to the golden gate bridge go here. Other interests, go someplace ells.
  • 57%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Andreas Sweden
  • My stay at this hostel was ideal. All of my expectations were met and I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a good value. I would stay here again if I ever return to San Francisco.
  • 80%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • bathroom was not tidy. location was worst. bed was very uncomfortable.
  • 43%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Staff is very friendly and helpful. Place was very clean. Perfect location to get anywhere in San Francisco. Beautiful view.
  • 100%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good place to stay on a short weekend trip
  • 80%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • There could be some better lighting at night outside, especially coming up the hill in the back, closest to the bay. That may not be the Hostel's property, but it has no lighting at all.
  • 89%
  • 26 Apr 2015 John USA
  • I stayed at this hostel back in 1983, then brought my family 33 years later on a trip to California in April 2015. It was outstanding both times. Great cafe with tremendous views of the Golden Gate and Alcatraz. Awesome great room where a couple travelers played piano and guitar while we listened and played chess. Travelers from all over. My wife and our 16 and 13 year olds enjoyed it very much.
  • 100%
  • 07 Apr 2015 John USA
  • I loved staying at Fort Mason! Great staff, comfortable beds, great facility, awesome location. The only thing I would have wanted more of was power outlets.
  • 97%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Ruth USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »