See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 84% from 57 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A good location, but a long travel from airport
  • 83%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • The staff were great. Beautiful location and felt safe. Compared to the other hostels location I always felt safe outside the hostel. If you're looking for a party hostel this is probably not for you. However as a single female this was ideal for me. I could go out and party and then come back using public transport and not feel scared walking home. The hostel was clean and well kept. Only thing is duvet covers not changed inbetween guests. So definitely use the sheet they give.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Anonymous Scotland
  • Great location for an "out of city experience". Oh, the city is there, but the surroundings and location lend itself to more than that. Staff were wonderful, most helpful.
  • 94%
  • 27 Jul 2015 Tyrus USA
  • I loved this hostel! I really liked the overall atmosphere - such a historic building and it just felt great and had an energy of providing a great not-for-profit service to assist people with seeing the world. There was a wide range of ages there, which I appreciated since I am somewhat older. The Cafe Franco is excellent - inexpensive organic food at amazing prices - breakfast is free of course! The views of the water, peaceful surroundings and free parking were all so welcome.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Jenine Canada
  • I really enjoyed my stay here!
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice staff and a safe area, but pretty boring part of San Francisco. The pictures doesnt tell the true story about the hostel. If you want a pretty cheap hostel with proximity to the golden gate bridge go here. Other interests, go someplace ells.
  • 57%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Andreas Sweden
  • My stay at this hostel was ideal. All of my expectations were met and I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a good value. I would stay here again if I ever return to San Francisco.
  • 80%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • bathroom was not tidy. location was worst. bed was very uncomfortable.
  • 43%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Staff is very friendly and helpful. Place was very clean. Perfect location to get anywhere in San Francisco. Beautiful view.
  • 100%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good place to stay on a short weekend trip
  • 80%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »