See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 83% from 61 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed at anywhere.
  • 100%
  • 16 Mar 2015 James USA
  • I reached airport midnight,so I contacted the staff to ask the way to the hostel by telephone. I worried if I couldn't contact to the staff I lost way to the hostel.But the staff taught me the way very kindly. Sometimes I contacted to ask the way,I could reach the hostel. I thought the staff is very kind and the hostel is very clean.In that time I couldn't stay for long time. Next time I want to stay long.
  • 86%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous
  • This Hostel was fantastic! Super clean and at a beautiful location. Very quite! However if you want to party this is not the place. I had a lot of older women in my room that went to bed at 9 and got up at 6am! Also it's far from the city center but you can take the bus into town which was ok. There is a great walkway to pier 39 and the hostel has a beautiful view of the harbor.
  • 100%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • What a nice location and an old building with high ceelings. Even a welcoming fire at late night. I appreiciated the organic fruits and coffee. That was super!
  • 94%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Minna Finland
  • Very nice staff. This was my first time staying at a hostel, just needed a dry place to stay, get cleaned up and sleep while riding my motorcycle home from the northern coast. Parking was not as close as I would like, but hey, it's San francisco!
  • 89%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Bryant USA
  • This experience blew my mind! I had never been to SF or stayed in a hostel before, this was the best trip I had ever taken. Location was perfect; safe, beautiful, and not far from cable cars to get downtown.The staff was friendly and super helpful. Thanks guys.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Shelly USA
  • Absolutely the best location and view this in SF!
  • 100%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Anurag India
  • they had works going on for all my stay, I mean construction. I have been woken every day to the noise workers were making. I mean if they really have to do that , maybe they should have considered closing it or at least emptying the part where construction was taking place. The stuff is helpful but they are not really nice. rooms smell as the smell of humidity. I don't really recommend it. It is not worth the money I paid.
  • 69%
  • 11 Jan 2015 Anonymous Tunisia
  • Pretty great place, comfortable and clean
  • 86%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff were always cheerful, helpful and ready to offer advice, information and recommendations. The hostel itself is old but has been well maintained, the common room is huge with a big open gas fireplace in the middle of one area, so nice to sit by after a windy day wandering the Embarcadero. The breakfast was adequate, not as great as at some hostels, but the downstairs self catering facilities were excellent. There is a nice theater with a big screen TV downstairs where they show movies.
  • 89%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Marian Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »