See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 83% from 16 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Customers should be more encouraged to be mindful of other guests. I would have suggested general lights off from 11 pm. Anyway, it would be a great pleasure to come here again.
  • 89%
  • 20 Oct 2016 hedia Switzerland
  • I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It's definitely in a great quiet & safe area of San Francisco. My only complaint would be that the women shared bathroom upstairs doesn't have an actually private place to get dressed coming out of the shower. I would have like an extra private space right outside the actual shower even a small space would have been great. The only possibility right now is getting dressed in the wet shower or going on the other side where the toilet are.
  • 97%
  • 11 Oct 2016 Annick Canada
  • The 6 person male dormitory is very cramped with next to no space to move. No bedside power outlets or bunk light just a lead on the floor in a corner. Basically just 3 bunk beds with a small square space in the middle. Breakfast basic. Bread or bagels with Jam, oats and milk CV and a banana or apple as well as coffee out yes. The facilities are good such as kitchen, laundry, the staff very helpful. The location is very good being on top of a hill with views over north bay and the golden gate
  • 71%
  • 11 Sep 2016 Anonymous England
  • Such a great stay in SF in much thanks to this wonderful hostel! So many social activities and a great atmosphere there. Great for young people and if you're traveling alone.
  • 83%
  • 30 Jul 2016 Anne Denmark
  • There need to be more clocks installed. Having a clock in the bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, and lounge would be great. Breakfast was well done, but our meal tickets were not collected 6 out of 7 days. The tickets also didn't clearly state that breakfast was in the basement, so it wasn't clear where to go. The front door was not locked after 11pm when we arrived late one night as the policy stated.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great expriemce staying in hi fishermen's wharf hostel. But the front desk get so busy during about 8-10pm all the times Sometimes had to wait for a long time. Maybe arrange an extra front desk staff at that time?
  • 89%
  • 24 Jul 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Extremely noisy dorm, beds were terrible; so soft it almost felt like sinking into a swamp.
  • 51%
  • 16 Jul 2016 Katie Netherlands
  • I enjoyed my stay. I loved that the rooms were locked it made me feel much more secure. The location was amazing so easy to walk down to the piers.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Loved the location, staff was great, good free breakfast, good value overal. The only thing I would change is having breakfast down stairs in the kitchen as the restaurant was a little crowded every morning. Bathrooms where dirty at times, but where cleaned daily! The heat was on in early June which made it hard to sleep sometimes, but very quiet and overall I slept good. Since I was traveling alone it was really nice being able to talk to people from all around the world. Highly recommend
  • 94%
  • 04 Jun 2016 Donald USA
  • I hadn't stayed at the Fisherman's Wharf hostel for a number of years. It was as pleasant and friendly as I remembered. I appreciated they accommodated my new knee with a lower bunk in an 8 women dorm. Breakfast was delicious.
  • 97%
  • 31 May 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »