See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 80% from 32 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location was great and the directions to the hostel, found on the internet page, were perfect. This hostel is old but in good repair. Very high ceilings which causes noise to be at a higher level. Taking a nap was not in the cards. The complimentary breakfast was nice, but our room was close to the dining area so the early birds were noisy. The café staff was not very caring and really rude. Dinner meal was never ready on time and they seemed confused as to the menu for the nite.
  • 80%
  • 22 Feb 2016 Susan USA
  • 1. Time of silence in the evening is to late. 2. If t staff would inform every newcomer to prepare the bed before time of silence, there would be less noise when one wants to sleep. 3. One small indirect light in the dorm would be great.
  • 57%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Is a excelent hostel, i recommend it 100 percent. The only problem were Mattresses that were a little soft.
  • 94%
  • 01 Nov 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • I love hosteling. For me it is the best of everthing, meeting people globally, sharing ideas, good value for people on a budget. The rich surround themselves with people out doing and competition with each other. Hosetlers surround themselves with vibrant, interesting people wanting to share and learn from one another at a decent price.
  • 97%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Carole USA
  • Staff was really unenthusiastic and not exactly helpful unless you asked the right questions. It was very uncharacteristic of hostel staff behavior.
  • 66%
  • 12 Oct 2015 Christina Canada
  • I think it's better if there are plugs for each bed.
  • 71%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Misaki Japan
  • Location and offers of the hostel are great. The rooms are quite small, but comfortable. The shower and toilet room could use more comfort. There is enough space to sit and enjoy the hostel. The breakfast is okay, but the extras are quite expensive.
  • 89%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • It was a wonderful hostel to stay at! The location was unbeatable, right at Fort Mason which is a part of the Golden Gates National Recreation Area (only a few mere minutes walk to the Fisherman's Wharf!). However it was a bit hectic at times and we wished there was a way to tone it down at times- such as an earlier lights out might be reasonable and there were often large groups coming at a time, which made it very busy/crowded at certain places: the community eating area and the kitchen.
  • 91%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • A good location, but a long travel from airport
  • 83%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • The staff were great. Beautiful location and felt safe. Compared to the other hostels location I always felt safe outside the hostel. If you're looking for a party hostel this is probably not for you. However as a single female this was ideal for me. I could go out and party and then come back using public transport and not feel scared walking home. The hostel was clean and well kept. Only thing is duvet covers not changed inbetween guests. So definitely use the sheet they give.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Anonymous Scotland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »