See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 91% from 10 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really like this hostel location, staff and room with good space and large windows. I have not been here in a long time and hope to come back soon.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed staying at your hostel. The staff was very nice and it was easy to meet new people. However no one could tell me exactly where my Bus to the Amtrak station in Emeryville would depart, but I found it out by myself. It is at Pier 39 in front of the Hard Rock Cafe. The common rooms are well equipped and a nice design. I booked a four ladies room and felt very secure. You have a big locker but you might want to bring your own lock and you have to have a keycard to enter the room.
  • 97%
  • 21 Feb 2017 Franziska Germany
  • I always enjoy staying at Fort Mason when I'm in S.F. because of the great location and the views!
  • 100%
  • 20 Dec 2016 William USA
  • Customers should be more encouraged to be mindful of other guests. I would have suggested general lights off from 11 pm. Anyway, it would be a great pleasure to come here again.
  • 89%
  • 20 Oct 2016 hedia Switzerland
  • I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It's definitely in a great quiet & safe area of San Francisco. My only complaint would be that the women shared bathroom upstairs doesn't have an actually private place to get dressed coming out of the shower. I would have like an extra private space right outside the actual shower even a small space would have been great. The only possibility right now is getting dressed in the wet shower or going on the other side where the toilet are.
  • 97%
  • 11 Oct 2016 Annick Canada
  • The 6 person male dormitory is very cramped with next to no space to move. No bedside power outlets or bunk light just a lead on the floor in a corner. Basically just 3 bunk beds with a small square space in the middle. Breakfast basic. Bread or bagels with Jam, oats and milk CV and a banana or apple as well as coffee out yes. The facilities are good such as kitchen, laundry, the staff very helpful. The location is very good being on top of a hill with views over north bay and the golden gate
  • 71%
  • 11 Sep 2016 Anonymous England
  • Such a great stay in SF in much thanks to this wonderful hostel! So many social activities and a great atmosphere there. Great for young people and if you're traveling alone.
  • 83%
  • 30 Jul 2016 Anne Denmark
  • There need to be more clocks installed. Having a clock in the bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, and lounge would be great. Breakfast was well done, but our meal tickets were not collected 6 out of 7 days. The tickets also didn't clearly state that breakfast was in the basement, so it wasn't clear where to go. The front door was not locked after 11pm when we arrived late one night as the policy stated.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »