See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 85% from 28 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved the location, staff was great, good free breakfast, good value overal. The only thing I would change is having breakfast down stairs in the kitchen as the restaurant was a little crowded every morning. Bathrooms where dirty at times, but where cleaned daily! The heat was on in early June which made it hard to sleep sometimes, but very quiet and overall I slept good. Since I was traveling alone it was really nice being able to talk to people from all around the world. Highly recommend
  • 94%
  • 04 Jun 2016 Donald USA
  • I hadn't stayed at the Fisherman's Wharf hostel for a number of years. It was as pleasant and friendly as I remembered. I appreciated they accommodated my new knee with a lower bunk in an 8 women dorm. Breakfast was delicious.
  • 97%
  • 31 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The location was great and the directions to the hostel, found on the internet page, were perfect. This hostel is old but in good repair. Very high ceilings which causes noise to be at a higher level. Taking a nap was not in the cards. The complimentary breakfast was nice, but our room was close to the dining area so the early birds were noisy. The café staff was not very caring and really rude. Dinner meal was never ready on time and they seemed confused as to the menu for the nite.
  • 80%
  • 22 Feb 2016 Susan USA
  • 1. Time of silence in the evening is to late. 2. If t staff would inform every newcomer to prepare the bed before time of silence, there would be less noise when one wants to sleep. 3. One small indirect light in the dorm would be great.
  • 57%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Is a excelent hostel, i recommend it 100 percent. The only problem were Mattresses that were a little soft.
  • 94%
  • 01 Nov 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • I love hosteling. For me it is the best of everthing, meeting people globally, sharing ideas, good value for people on a budget. The rich surround themselves with people out doing and competition with each other. Hosetlers surround themselves with vibrant, interesting people wanting to share and learn from one another at a decent price.
  • 97%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Carole USA
  • Staff was really unenthusiastic and not exactly helpful unless you asked the right questions. It was very uncharacteristic of hostel staff behavior.
  • 66%
  • 12 Oct 2015 Christina Canada
  • I think it's better if there are plugs for each bed.
  • 71%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Misaki Japan
  • Location and offers of the hostel are great. The rooms are quite small, but comfortable. The shower and toilet room could use more comfort. There is enough space to sit and enjoy the hostel. The breakfast is okay, but the extras are quite expensive.
  • 89%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • It was a wonderful hostel to stay at! The location was unbeatable, right at Fort Mason which is a part of the Golden Gates National Recreation Area (only a few mere minutes walk to the Fisherman's Wharf!). However it was a bit hectic at times and we wished there was a way to tone it down at times- such as an earlier lights out might be reasonable and there were often large groups coming at a time, which made it very busy/crowded at certain places: the community eating area and the kitchen.
  • 91%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »