See other San Francisco properties

HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 84% from 24 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Such a great stay in SF in much thanks to this wonderful hostel! So many social activities and a great atmosphere there. Great for young people and if you're traveling alone.
  • 83%
  • 30 Jul 2016 Anne Denmark
  • There need to be more clocks installed. Having a clock in the bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, and lounge would be great. Breakfast was well done, but our meal tickets were not collected 6 out of 7 days. The tickets also didn't clearly state that breakfast was in the basement, so it wasn't clear where to go. The front door was not locked after 11pm when we arrived late one night as the policy stated.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great expriemce staying in hi fishermen's wharf hostel. But the front desk get so busy during about 8-10pm all the times Sometimes had to wait for a long time. Maybe arrange an extra front desk staff at that time?
  • 89%
  • 24 Jul 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Extremely noisy dorm, beds were terrible; so soft it almost felt like sinking into a swamp.
  • 51%
  • 16 Jul 2016 Katie Netherlands
  • I enjoyed my stay. I loved that the rooms were locked it made me feel much more secure. The location was amazing so easy to walk down to the piers.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Loved the location, staff was great, good free breakfast, good value overal. The only thing I would change is having breakfast down stairs in the kitchen as the restaurant was a little crowded every morning. Bathrooms where dirty at times, but where cleaned daily! The heat was on in early June which made it hard to sleep sometimes, but very quiet and overall I slept good. Since I was traveling alone it was really nice being able to talk to people from all around the world. Highly recommend
  • 94%
  • 04 Jun 2016 Donald USA
  • I hadn't stayed at the Fisherman's Wharf hostel for a number of years. It was as pleasant and friendly as I remembered. I appreciated they accommodated my new knee with a lower bunk in an 8 women dorm. Breakfast was delicious.
  • 97%
  • 31 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The location was great and the directions to the hostel, found on the internet page, were perfect. This hostel is old but in good repair. Very high ceilings which causes noise to be at a higher level. Taking a nap was not in the cards. The complimentary breakfast was nice, but our room was close to the dining area so the early birds were noisy. The café staff was not very caring and really rude. Dinner meal was never ready on time and they seemed confused as to the menu for the nite.
  • 80%
  • 22 Feb 2016 Susan USA
  • 1. Time of silence in the evening is to late. 2. If t staff would inform every newcomer to prepare the bed before time of silence, there would be less noise when one wants to sleep. 3. One small indirect light in the dorm would be great.
  • 57%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Is a excelent hostel, i recommend it 100 percent. The only problem were Mattresses that were a little soft.
  • 94%
  • 01 Nov 2015 Anonymous Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »