See other Seattle properties

HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 80% from 32 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Average hostel, conveniently located one block away from King Street station, directly at the gate to Chinatown.
  • 86%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Christoph Germany
  • I wish they'd designate a certain percentage of beds for local folks, when openings permit.
  • 97%
  • 12 Oct 2014 WILLIAM C USA
  • Got booked into the wrong room so had to move when I came back late at night which was disappointing, but understand that these things happen sometime. Hostel had great facilities, was clean and comfortable rooms - well done
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • good choice for students
  • 71%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • The Hostel is close to Chinatown Station and thus it's easy to get anywhere we need by bus.
  • 77%
  • 17 Aug 2014 David Brazil
  • Great place. Environmenttly friendly, it's a unique place. Feels like a co-ed dorm. I would stay here for each trip to Seattle in the future!!!
  • 91%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Julie USA
  • This hostel is very well organized, and responds to pretty much every need that a traveler can have. I was dissapointed that it now caters to groups of school age kids, not even teenagers yet, who travel in large numbers, at least 20, and overwhelm the whole atmosphere of the hostel with their kids energy, running around, making their noises, watching cartoons on t.v. It felt like a summer kid camp, and I certainly would not use this hostel again, if I knew that one of those groups attended.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Nadia Canada
  • The room is pretty small, but you do get a cabinet for your belongings. The location is excellent, it's well-connected to major spots like downtown and the airport, and you get all the Chinese food you want!
  • 86%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous China
  • Clean and helpful desk staff.
  • 80%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Linda USA
  • I've been surprised, having booked two rooms of 6 (full, for 12 people) receiving one for 2, 2 for 3 and one for 4, but we were still only people of my group in the rooms ... we were split, but had more space... not a problem (very surprised ;-) )
  • 94%
  • 23 May 2014 Kévin Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »