See other Seattle properties

HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 79% from 43 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • When we are new to Seattle we rely on the Hostel frount desk for accurate advice. I requested the fournt desk to look up an address. They modified the address and gave me incorrect map . I was late for the interview by 1.15 hours as I was LOST in Seattle. She added N and changezip address was modified by a letter N as in 2nd Ave "N" . Address I provided IN HER HAND WAS wirtten on a piece of paper was cleary a different location . Everything was messedup.She seemed tiredand does not likework.
  • 74%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Mariyah India
  • Very friendly and helpful staff
  • 74%
  • 12 Jun 2015 susan USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay! The staff had great info, the hostel was clean, the kitchen was perfect to have and meet fellow travelers. My only recomendation was to bring ear plugs as the city outside didn't sleep when I wanted to! : )
  • 83%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Kim Canada
  • Good accommodations in a great location: close to ferry terminal and boltbus and public transportation. After dark, best to go out in pairs, at least for women.
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Breakfast was a welcome surprise-great job guys! Thanks for everything!
  • 86%
  • 30 May 2015 Zachary USA
  • This is all in comparison to the Green Tortoise, your major competition: Security was lacking; the front door to the dorms was usually not fully closed, I got in with an expired room key by accident, the bathrooms probably should have locks on them. A male guest was placed in a female dorm and it wasn't resolved for over 24 hours. I witnessed a series of staff mistakes and not great customer service. Generally, I like your location, the ambiance, and the price. I think you have some QI to do.
  • 57%
  • 27 May 2015 Simon USA
  • The Hi Seattle hostel was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very cleaned and overall I really liked the laid back and friendly vibe of the place.
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The young man who I checked in early with seemed completely disengaged and disinterested in my presence. I thought it was a safe clean facility. The location in Chinatown was not ideal and easy to walk past and miss but still content with my one night stay.
  • 66%
  • 05 May 2015 Athenea Canada
  • Overall experience at the hostel was a good one. Few downsides though, first the room I was in was extremely hot, I was unable to get a good nights sleep. Second, the location of the hostel is in the international district and it was really sketch at night with not much to do within walking distance. But all the amenities were wonderful, inside the hostel everything was clean and tidy.
  • 89%
  • 01 Mar 2015 Ling-Ching Taiwan
  • The staff is really nice, there's no doubt about it. The place is very clean, too, but outside of the hostel gets a little creepy by night beacuse of the bums (some of them get some money for staying in the hostel and sharing room with them could be really unconfortable). If you wanna go to a place by night, everything near closes very early. The only place near that closes late is a bar but it looks a little dangerous with drunken old people and bums, it's common to see fightings.
  • 74%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Guillermo Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »