See other Seattle properties

HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 80% from 35 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall experience at the hostel was a good one. Few downsides though, first the room I was in was extremely hot, I was unable to get a good nights sleep. Second, the location of the hostel is in the international district and it was really sketch at night with not much to do within walking distance. But all the amenities were wonderful, inside the hostel everything was clean and tidy.
  • 89%
  • 01 Mar 2015 Ling-Ching Taiwan
  • I have no complains over my stay
  • 94%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Paola Honduras
  • The front desk girls really did not know how to treat customers. I heard one girl say to a recently arrived guest: oh the information you were given is erroneous, and he's new so no it's wrong. Who the hell says that to a recently arrived person? Also, the girls at the front desk did not seem to enjoy working there because all they did was look at the computer and every time someone asked for a question it seemed that it was a painful duty.
  • 54%
  • 31 Dec 2014 diego Canada
  • Average hostel, conveniently located one block away from King Street station, directly at the gate to Chinatown.
  • 86%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Christoph Germany
  • I wish they'd designate a certain percentage of beds for local folks, when openings permit.
  • 97%
  • 12 Oct 2014 WILLIAM C USA
  • A solid HI, the hotel structure is nice, the neighborhood is not so nice to walk about after dark. The cleaning staff is professional, but for some odd reason is scheduled to clean washrooms at 8am daily-prime shower time. Desk staff needs course on customer service--very surly. Bed mattresses are very thin and not comfortable. There are better alternatives in Seattle to stay at.
  • 60%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Got booked into the wrong room so had to move when I came back late at night which was disappointing, but understand that these things happen sometime. Hostel had great facilities, was clean and comfortable rooms - well done
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • This hostel is located in the heart of Chinatown. The dorms were clean and each person had a fan and a lamp. The staff didn't seem very friendly. The breakfAst selection was quite good.
  • 74%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • good choice for students
  • 71%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • The Hostel is close to Chinatown Station and thus it's easy to get anywhere we need by bus.
  • 77%
  • 17 Aug 2014 David Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Most of us love to see the back of winter, and welcome the warmth of Springtime sun. Check out these fab Spring festivals guaranteed to wake your body up for the rest of the ye...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »