See other Seattle properties

HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 80% from 32 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Average hostel, conveniently located one block away from King Street station, directly at the gate to Chinatown.
  • 86%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Christoph Germany
  • I wish they'd designate a certain percentage of beds for local folks, when openings permit.
  • 97%
  • 12 Oct 2014 WILLIAM C USA
  • A solid HI, the hotel structure is nice, the neighborhood is not so nice to walk about after dark. The cleaning staff is professional, but for some odd reason is scheduled to clean washrooms at 8am daily-prime shower time. Desk staff needs course on customer service--very surly. Bed mattresses are very thin and not comfortable. There are better alternatives in Seattle to stay at.
  • 60%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Got booked into the wrong room so had to move when I came back late at night which was disappointing, but understand that these things happen sometime. Hostel had great facilities, was clean and comfortable rooms - well done
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • good choice for students
  • 71%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • The Hostel is close to Chinatown Station and thus it's easy to get anywhere we need by bus.
  • 77%
  • 17 Aug 2014 David Brazil
  • Great place. Environmenttly friendly, it's a unique place. Feels like a co-ed dorm. I would stay here for each trip to Seattle in the future!!!
  • 91%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Julie USA
  • This hostel is very well organized, and responds to pretty much every need that a traveler can have. I was dissapointed that it now caters to groups of school age kids, not even teenagers yet, who travel in large numbers, at least 20, and overwhelm the whole atmosphere of the hostel with their kids energy, running around, making their noises, watching cartoons on t.v. It felt like a summer kid camp, and I certainly would not use this hostel again, if I knew that one of those groups attended.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Nadia Canada
  • The room is pretty small, but you do get a cabinet for your belongings. The location is excellent, it's well-connected to major spots like downtown and the airport, and you get all the Chinese food you want!
  • 86%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous China
  • Clean and helpful desk staff.
  • 80%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Linda USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »