See other Seattle properties

HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 79% from 32 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel and I enjoyed it :) The rooms were clean and warm and the staff were always there if you had a question. Even with so many people staying, it was pretty quiet, so I always had a good night's sleep.
  • 91%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Katherine Canada
  • Nice staff
  • 100%
  • 25 Aug 2015 james USA
  • This hostel is close to many homeless shelters/soup kitchens/etc. You WILL have to deal with begging/homeless/sketchiness. The area is also pretty dirty and bars/restaurants look divey in a bad way. Not a "good" part of town for sure. But I never felt in acute danger, and it actually gets better after dark. Hostel itself is fine. Generally clean, OK breakfast, staff is helpful. Other guests did their own thing mostly, I also saw many kids. You have to pay to store luggage after checkout.
  • 69%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Natalia Canada
  • Really cool hostel - has everything you need and the location is great for Asian restaurants. Having a grocery store right there was awesome. The neighborhood is a little sketchy but not bad and it's very easy to walk into town to do anything you want.
  • 91%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Adelaide Canada
  • Lovely staff and very informative regarding what's happening in the area. The rooms and kitchen were way too hot though! However, very clean, they even wash the blankets (not only the sheets, like most hotels and hostels)!
  • 83%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Kajsa Sweden
  • When we are new to Seattle we rely on the Hostel frount desk for accurate advice. I requested the fournt desk to look up an address. They modified the address and gave me incorrect map . I was late for the interview by 1.15 hours as I was LOST in Seattle. She added N and changezip address was modified by a letter N as in 2nd Ave "N" . Address I provided IN HER HAND WAS wirtten on a piece of paper was cleary a different location . Everything was messedup.She seemed tiredand does not likework.
  • 74%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Mariyah India
  • Very friendly and helpful staff
  • 74%
  • 12 Jun 2015 susan USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay! The staff had great info, the hostel was clean, the kitchen was perfect to have and meet fellow travelers. My only recomendation was to bring ear plugs as the city outside didn't sleep when I wanted to! : )
  • 83%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Kim Canada
  • Good accommodations in a great location: close to ferry terminal and boltbus and public transportation. After dark, best to go out in pairs, at least for women.
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Breakfast was a welcome surprise-great job guys! Thanks for everything!
  • 86%
  • 30 May 2015 Zachary USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »