See other Seattle properties

HI - Seattle at the American Hotel Hostel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 79% from 33 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is all in comparison to the Green Tortoise, your major competition: Security was lacking; the front door to the dorms was usually not fully closed, I got in with an expired room key by accident, the bathrooms probably should have locks on them. A male guest was placed in a female dorm and it wasn't resolved for over 24 hours. I witnessed a series of staff mistakes and not great customer service. Generally, I like your location, the ambiance, and the price. I think you have some QI to do.
  • 57%
  • 27 May 2015 Simon USA
  • The Hi Seattle hostel was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very cleaned and overall I really liked the laid back and friendly vibe of the place.
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The young man who I checked in early with seemed completely disengaged and disinterested in my presence. I thought it was a safe clean facility. The location in Chinatown was not ideal and easy to walk past and miss but still content with my one night stay.
  • 66%
  • 05 May 2015 Athenea Canada
  • Overall experience at the hostel was a good one. Few downsides though, first the room I was in was extremely hot, I was unable to get a good nights sleep. Second, the location of the hostel is in the international district and it was really sketch at night with not much to do within walking distance. But all the amenities were wonderful, inside the hostel everything was clean and tidy.
  • 89%
  • 01 Mar 2015 Ling-Ching Taiwan
  • The staff is really nice, there's no doubt about it. The place is very clean, too, but outside of the hostel gets a little creepy by night beacuse of the bums (some of them get some money for staying in the hostel and sharing room with them could be really unconfortable). If you wanna go to a place by night, everything near closes very early. The only place near that closes late is a bar but it looks a little dangerous with drunken old people and bums, it's common to see fightings.
  • 74%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Guillermo Mexico
  • I have no complains over my stay
  • 94%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Paola Honduras
  • The front desk girls really did not know how to treat customers. I heard one girl say to a recently arrived guest: oh the information you were given is erroneous, and he's new so no it's wrong. Who the hell says that to a recently arrived person? Also, the girls at the front desk did not seem to enjoy working there because all they did was look at the computer and every time someone asked for a question it seemed that it was a painful duty.
  • 54%
  • 31 Dec 2014 diego Canada
  • Average hostel, conveniently located one block away from King Street station, directly at the gate to Chinatown.
  • 86%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Christoph Germany
  • I wish they'd designate a certain percentage of beds for local folks, when openings permit.
  • 97%
  • 12 Oct 2014 WILLIAM C USA
  • A solid HI, the hotel structure is nice, the neighborhood is not so nice to walk about after dark. The cleaning staff is professional, but for some odd reason is scheduled to clean washrooms at 8am daily-prime shower time. Desk staff needs course on customer service--very surly. Bed mattresses are very thin and not comfortable. There are better alternatives in Seattle to stay at.
  • 60%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »