See other Seattle properties

HI - Seattle at the American Hotel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 72% from 23 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I've been surprised, having booked two rooms of 6 (full, for 12 people) receiving one for 2, 2 for 3 and one for 4, but we were still only people of my group in the rooms ... we were split, but had more space... not a problem (very surprised ;-) )
  • 94%
  • 23 May 2014 Kévin Switzerland
  • STAFFS, SOME ARE GOOD-SOME ARE NOT. BLACK GIRLES SHOULD BE MORE POLITE TO CUSTOMERS. HOUSE CLEANNERS PEOPLES ARE VERY GOOD.
  • 57%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • I'm kinda used to cheap hostel and this one is definitely not cheap for what it is. The beds are awful, I pay usually 18 dollars for a bed like that and not 30 dollars a night... The staff is very friendly, the kitchen is a nice place to stay. The weird thing is that we can't drink alcohol in the hotel, common areas and even our own room... A little bit weird for a hostel.
  • 54%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous France
  • It was honestly the worst stay at a hostel I have ever had. I couldn't sleep thru a single night due to the constant door slamming. The handle on the door to my room caught, so my bunkmates were either constantly jiggling it or knocking for someone to let them in. The hostel could improve on the soundproofing, too.
  • 57%
  • 28 Jan 2014 Michelle USA
  • elevator is not so convient, but the location is ideal for traveling by Amtrak.
  • 86%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Anonymous China
  • Staff are friendly and helpful.
  • 80%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Ahmed Egypt
  • Second stay, in a different room. The Hostel is fine!
  • 86%
  • 30 Sep 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Bedroom smells like a doghouse. Sheets wasnt clean. Urgh. Staff very rude... if you dont have english as your mother tongue...prepare yourself to someone very rude repeating the same thing pretending you are a idiot.
  • 40%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • You can't get much closer to the light rail.
  • 80%
  • 30 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Super place and stuff! Only negative things were the fact that although the hostel is located conveniently in downtown the noise from the street and nearby pubs didn't allow to sleep and rest during the night, breakfast was also quite modest.
  • 94%
  • 17 Aug 2013 Helena Estonia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »