See other Seattle properties

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

520 S. King St., Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 81% from 15 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • More like an Asian hotel than a hostel. No age limit makes it very different
  • 71%
  • 13 Oct 2016 Anonymous Togo
  • Pro: - Attendants were generally respectful and answered questions well - Foosball, chess Con: - Bathrooms were not cleaned often enough - Thin mattress and metal support bars made sleeping uncomfortable - One attendant refused us a towel citing only one towel exchange per day. Another allowed it. - Window was difficult to close, letting in cold wind. It didn't have a protective screen either, potentially allowing bugs to enter - Cigarette smell - Breakfast included only bread
  • 57%
  • 30 Aug 2016 Brian USA
  • Great stay and a good facility for the money!
  • 80%
  • 24 Aug 2016 Benjamin USA
  • We stayed for three nights. The location and facilities were great. The staff was exceptional.
  • 97%
  • 01 Aug 2016 Paul USA
  • The location of the hostel is great. Being so close to King St Station allowed for me to travel easily throughout the city and to other destinations. The distance to Pike St Markets and the Space Needle is not huge and an easy walk. The big thing was having the link train to the airport so close to the hostel and I was able to leave my bags there after I checked out until I was ready to catch the train to the airport. The staff were nice and friendly but did lack some local area knowledge.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jul 2016 Catherine Anne Australia
  • I shared my experience with the Hostels.com "Share your experience" link in my email. Anyway my family and I had a great time. The lady who put out breakfast was wonderful. I can not remember her name but she was so pleasant and she had everything-clean! I complimented her and told the front desk about her and the guy who helped her clean. They were so cool and awesome. Her smile and friendliness made me feel welcomed and happy-she has a cool vibe and spirit We will return in the future.
  • 94%
  • 17 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is very good for travelers on a budget. Location is excellent. Location in Chinatown and near downtown Seattle. The location is also next to the train station and bolt bus pick up area. The hostel provides free wifi, free towel, and free breakfast. Overall, excellent hostel! Higher recommended!!
  • 89%
  • 06 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great location--near many buses, train and King Street Station. Many interesting street people around, always asking for money, and sometimes aggressively. Although I never felt that my safety was threatened, I remain aware of what's happening around me. The area seems like it's on life support. Chinatown seems so....old, so lifeless. Very uncharacteristic. Neighborhood in flux.
  • 86%
  • 16 Dec 2015 Carl USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »