See other Washington DC properties

HI - Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 50 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • HI are big hostels (5-8 floors) so you're not expecting something "family-like". Facilities are OK (clean bathroom, wifi quite good actually, lockers in the room). Only one elevator for 8 floors, so slow... Events are good (we went to the baseball game one evening for $12). If you don't expect to spend too much time in the hostel during the evening, it does the job !
  • 69%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Alexandre France
  • It was a good stay. Welcoming staff. Good security. And the program they had for the evenings was great.
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Kjartan Alexander Norway
  • Very good security, and the facilities were very clean. Breakfast was ok - bagels/toast, cereal, apples, and that was basically it. About a 20 min. walk from the Mall, and just a few minutes' walk from the nearest metro stop.
  • 91%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • They were very helpful and friendly, and made my stay comfortable.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Dexter USA
  • Very nice. Clean and good location. Only the elevator is too old and slow.
  • 89%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Great hostel! Clean, good location, friendly staff.
  • 83%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Good location and great facilities. Ages ranged from children to elderly couples which made the socialising aspect a little difficult.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Laura Australia
  • Great hostel. About 15-20 minutes walk from the mall with all the museums. The hostel offers great guided tours, which made me meet some great friends from all over the world. The rooms were nice and clean.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Jens Denmark
  • It seemed pretty pricey as far as hostels go, but I suppose DC is a little expensive in itself. I was hoping for breakfast a little nicer than what was available, but that's alright.
  • 77%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Michael USA
  • good security,i was able to store my valuable laptop in the locker in my room and it did not get stolen. make sure to bring a lock for the locker or else you can buy one from the front desk (but it was reasonably priced). i didn't use the elevator during my stay. one day it was broken and the other day the elevator was slow. location is great since it is within walking distance a metro station (McPherson Sq or Metro Center) - about 3-5 block walk. they also give out really helpful brochures.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Jessica USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »