See other Washington DC properties

HI - Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 79 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice staff ! The proposed activities are just great !
  • 89%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Louis Belgium
  • Great location, super nice and helpful staff! Hostel was clean. Lockers and washing machines in the basement, WiFi is slow but sufficient to check emails. I was a bit bothered by the full-blast AC at night (the hostel doesn't want windows to be opened), and the matrasses made a very loud noice everytime somebody moved.. Breakfast includes coffee, orange juice, bagles, PB, jam-like substance and cream cheese. If I could make one recommendation: a few more and better quality choices at breakfast.
  • 83%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Mathias Austria
  • The Hostel location is very good, you can walk to National Mall, also is easy and pretty close to bus stop e metro station. The bedroons and bathroons are very clean and the breakfast is excellent. The only negative point would be about the beds, they're not comfortable and everytime somebody moves, it makes a loud noise, making you wake up many times during the night.
  • 80%
  • 21 Jul 2015 ANA CLAUDIA Brazil
  • They should have more than one elevator because most of the times you have to wait several minutes for it to arrive.
  • 80%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great Place
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Anonymous England
  • best location and staffs are very friendly. the room and bathroom are clean. definitely recommend it.
  • 94%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I lost my wallet and it was returned, so I was very happy!
  • 100%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Jack USA
  • HI is in a good location in DC so you can walk everywhere. However as someone travelling alone, it's a TERRIBLE hostel. There is no atmosphere or character in the hostel. The cleaning and maintenance staff even walked around with earphones in so that they didn't have to talk to people. It felt like a factory just processing travellers through with no interest in the individual. If you want to travel alone and meet people, DO NOT stay here- stay somewhere smaller.
  • 60%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Ngaire Australia
  • Pro: Very nice breakfast, activities organized by hostel staff for free, free banana, quite clean. Con: Wifi quite slow, only one elevator serving 8 floors and hundreds of guests, short beds. Overall a very good value for money.
  • 89%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hungary
  • The hostel is very well located, there is a bus that goes directly from the bus station to two blocks away from the hostel. The facilities were good and the people working there were super kind. Another thing that is really good, is that the price you are told to pay there is final price, you don't get surprised by extras due to taxes, something extremely good when you're a student and have a budget!
  • 86%
  • 29 May 2015 Melanie Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »