See other Washington DC properties

HI - Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 55 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's so nice place. I stayed here for the first time, but it is better than other place which I stayed before like motel. here is very good location coz it's near station. and staff is also kind and you can get free breakfast. this hostel is special place. Next time I also want to stay this company.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Ryuki Japan
  • The faucets for washing faces and hands could be better. They're so hard to use!
  • 86%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • First time trying a hostel, came away very pleased with the stay. Would look here again in the future.
  • 100%
  • 05 Dec 2014 NEIL USA
  • Lots of pros: super friendly staff, free breakfast, comfortable communal spaces, fantastic location next to a capital bikeshare rack or a 15 minute walk to the museums/monuments downtown. Only con: the internet, at least when I visited, was extremely slow. Would definitely stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • THE LOCATION IS PRETTY GOOD AND THE STAFF IS VERY NICE.
  • 89%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous China
  • It is a great place to spend few days.
  • 83%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • This was my first time on a hostel and it did live up to expectations. Location is perfect, ambient was very friendly and the night tour to the monuments (free!!) that they offer is a great moment to make new friends and share experiences. Thumbs up!
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • The staff was very helpful in answering my questions about the hostel and the DC area. This hostel has the best kitchen and system to keep it clean that I have seen at any other hostel at this time. The location is great being a short walk to the metro train station and interesting landmarks. The rooms are clean and the lockers inside the rooms are adequate for most luggage. There is extra storage in the basement for a fee as needed, which I did use.
  • 97%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • HI are big hostels (5-8 floors) so you're not expecting something "family-like". Facilities are OK (clean bathroom, wifi quite good actually, lockers in the room). Only one elevator for 8 floors, so slow... Events are good (we went to the baseball game one evening for $12). If you don't expect to spend too much time in the hostel during the evening, it does the job !
  • 69%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Alexandre France
  • HI is the best that you can find in terms of Hostels. I only stayed for 2 nights. The hostel is very well located, close to the bus station! I did not have time to have breakfast so I cannot tell you guys about that. The room and bathroom were clean.
  • 97%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Ana Clara Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »