See other Washington DC properties

HI - Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 53 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • HI are big hostels (5-8 floors) so you're not expecting something "family-like". Facilities are OK (clean bathroom, wifi quite good actually, lockers in the room). Only one elevator for 8 floors, so slow... Events are good (we went to the baseball game one evening for $12). If you don't expect to spend too much time in the hostel during the evening, it does the job !
  • 69%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Alexandre France
  • HI is the best that you can find in terms of Hostels. I only stayed for 2 nights. The hostel is very well located, close to the bus station! I did not have time to have breakfast so I cannot tell you guys about that. The room and bathroom were clean.
  • 97%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Ana Clara Argentina
  • It was a good stay. Welcoming staff. Good security. And the program they had for the evenings was great.
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Kjartan Alexander Norway
  • Very good security, and the facilities were very clean. Breakfast was ok - bagels/toast, cereal, apples, and that was basically it. About a 20 min. walk from the Mall, and just a few minutes' walk from the nearest metro stop.
  • 91%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • They were very helpful and friendly, and made my stay comfortable.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Dexter USA
  • Very nice. Clean and good location. Only the elevator is too old and slow.
  • 89%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Great hostel! Clean, good location, friendly staff.
  • 83%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Good location and great facilities. Ages ranged from children to elderly couples which made the socialising aspect a little difficult.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Laura Australia
  • Great hostel. About 15-20 minutes walk from the mall with all the museums. The hostel offers great guided tours, which made me meet some great friends from all over the world. The rooms were nice and clean.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Jens Denmark
  • It seemed pretty pricey as far as hostels go, but I suppose DC is a little expensive in itself. I was hoping for breakfast a little nicer than what was available, but that's alright.
  • 77%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Michael USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »