See other Washington DC properties

HI - Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 55 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It seemed pretty pricey as far as hostels go, but I suppose DC is a little expensive in itself. I was hoping for breakfast a little nicer than what was available, but that's alright.
  • 77%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Michael USA
  • good security,i was able to store my valuable laptop in the locker in my room and it did not get stolen. make sure to bring a lock for the locker or else you can buy one from the front desk (but it was reasonably priced). i didn't use the elevator during my stay. one day it was broken and the other day the elevator was slow. location is great since it is within walking distance a metro station (McPherson Sq or Metro Center) - about 3-5 block walk. they also give out really helpful brochures.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Jessica USA
  • Elevator broke during the stay and stayed broken for 2 days but it was the weekend. We had to carry down 50lbs luggage down the stairs by ourselves. Very good location and great environment. During the free-breakfast, the staff encourages the people to greet each other and talk to each other (very friendly). It was expensive for a hostel, but I assume it is cheaper than the hotels nearby.
  • 94%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The elevator definitely needs to be repaired. It was not functioning very well. Some buttons didn't work.
  • 63%
  • 28 May 2014 Anonymous China
  • Absolutely worth of the money. Nice experience.
  • 100%
  • 11 May 2014 Jiaojiao China
  • ELEVATOR SHOULD BE RENEWAL AND BUILT AS TWO.
  • 63%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Everything was great, the breakfast was excellent too!
  • 100%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Assia France
  • Top hostel! Great location - I walked to all museums and monuments while I was there. The breakfast is good and John, the guy that looks after it, is friendly and gives the breakfast area a family vibe. There is a piano and guitar and pool table near reception which is so great :-) Only thing that can be improved is that the mattresses are a little bit thin.
  • 94%
  • 17 Nov 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Very loud heater/fan in our room which turned on throughout the night - Apparently it was for the room next door?!
  • 74%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Edward England
  • I was in town for a conference and this was the most affordable option by far! Excellent location - a 15-minute walk to the National Mall and all the fantastic museums, and fairly easy access to the Metro. Clean bathrooms and common areas, and a very substantial free breakfast. My hallway and room were nice and quiet when I was there, and the staff were pleasant. If you want to store your luggage after you check out, bring quarters for the lockers. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »