See other Washington DC properties

HI - Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 74 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is good. But loud noise from outside window in the morning! I can't sleep from 5 o'clock.
  • 77%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Hanqing
  • Very big and unpersonal hostel. You get a good bed and clean rooms but the staff is repeating their by heart answers to your questions sometimes missing the point. The elevator was out of order (8 floors!) and it seemed to be already for a while. 2 of 3 showers in my floor were out of order, but there were enough on other floors. Also the hot water system was running on backup even though I didn't feel the water was too cold. And you have to pay extra for everything.This hostel is simply to big.
  • 71%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • It's so nice place. I stayed here for the first time, but it is better than other place which I stayed before like motel. here is very good location coz it's near station. and staff is also kind and you can get free breakfast. this hostel is special place. Next time I also want to stay this company.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Ryuki Japan
  • The faucets for washing faces and hands could be better. They're so hard to use!
  • 86%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • First time trying a hostel, came away very pleased with the stay. Would look here again in the future.
  • 100%
  • 05 Dec 2014 NEIL USA
  • Lots of pros: super friendly staff, free breakfast, comfortable communal spaces, fantastic location next to a capital bikeshare rack or a 15 minute walk to the museums/monuments downtown. Only con: the internet, at least when I visited, was extremely slow. Would definitely stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • THE LOCATION IS PRETTY GOOD AND THE STAFF IS VERY NICE.
  • 89%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous China
  • The HI - Washington DC Hostel is located near Central Station. The staff in the hostel are very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere is excellent, security is excellent, and the location is perfect. The hostel provides free wifi, free breakfast, and free towel. The rooms are very large and the hostel has a large living room in the first floor where you can easily meet new friends. Overall, I highly recommend this hostel for both local and international students. Thanks!! A+
  • 97%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It is a great place to spend few days.
  • 83%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • This was my first time on a hostel and it did live up to expectations. Location is perfect, ambient was very friendly and the night tour to the monuments (free!!) that they offer is a great moment to make new friends and share experiences. Thumbs up!
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »