See other Washington DC properties

HI Washington DC

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 56 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I always stay at this hostel. It's central to everything and I can eat at some great restaurant in china town/verizon arena area.
  • 97%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Anwar USA
  • HI Washington DC is located within walking distance to all of the city's main sights. The Smithsonian Castle: 20 minutes. Washington Memorial: 30 minutes. Abraham Lincoln Memorial: 40 minutes. The Capitol: 40 minutes. The hostel offers everything that a traveller needs, including free soap and blowdryers. Free breakfast and very friendly, helpful staff.
  • 80%
  • 20 Apr 2016 Anonymous Denmark
  • I really liked the staff at the front desk. Personable and helpful. I was in DC to demonstrate for campaign finance reform, a new voter rights amendment, and the gerrymandering that creates safe district for members of Congress.
  • 94%
  • 10 Apr 2016 Chris USA
  • You find many interesting people there...
  • 97%
  • 04 Feb 2016 Cyrus USA
  • I really loved the location, the cleanliness and the friendly atmosphere!
  • 100%
  • 17 Jan 2016 Anne
  • I have stayed in a good amount of hostels in the US and internationally. This was my worst experience. Bad atmosphere. The fact that it's 8 floors makes meeting people very difficult. The TV room sucks and always has on PBS or something, they charge for computers, and you have to wear shoes every time you leave your room. I also felt that the beds were too close together and the crowd was weird. A guy literally fell off the top bunk and landed on me while I was sleeping on the bunk below.
  • 63%
  • 09 Dec 2015 Simon USA
  • Little cramped up. Shower rooms no place to hang clothes. HI NYC was much better experience.
  • 77%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Anonymous India
  • This was simply an awesome experience. I highly recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2015 Aleksandar Serbia
  • Staff was pleasant and helpful. Made me feel welcome. Even let me store my bike in the office overnight.
  • 91%
  • 04 Oct 2015 michael USA
  • I have no idea why each of me and my friend had been overcharged $15... it seemed like deposit but I've already paid the deposit when I booked the hostel And then I tried to ask customer service,I still didn't get the answer to my question....it really makes me and my friend feel bad.
  • 71%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »