See other Washington DC properties

HI Washington DC

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 84% from 29 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is a great place to stay.....it has all the amenities one needs for an enjoyable stay. However, more & more very young people are choosing to stay here and some of them need some supervision to rein in their exuberance and i guess boredom at times. I was nearly hit by a falling object on the stairs by one of these juveniles! Otherwise this hostel gives you great value for your money!
  • 97%
  • 28 May 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Great, helpful staff. Well located with easy access to most points of interest. Beds/mattresses are very noisy so any movement (ie turning) is amplified.
  • 86%
  • 21 Apr 2017 Nicola Italy
  • I tired hosteling for the frst time that too on my solo trip, i had best time. I felt very safe and secure. And the best part is to meet different people from different country. The services are great and at very resonable rate. It was overall a very good experience, i would choose hosteling over hotels any day now,
  • 100%
  • 07 Apr 2017 Anonymous India
  • No hot water at all for two nights. The staffs said only "working on it"
  • 60%
  • 26 Mar 2017 Youngmi USA
  • Place is welcoming yet it doesn't feel as open and easy to befriend anyone as I'm usually used to. It's a big place, so, be as friendly as you can.
  • 74%
  • 28 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • good location reasonable price and including breakfast!!! breakfast is much better than other Hostel.
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • this is one of the better Hi Hostelling hostels that I have stayed. About 10 mins walk from the nearest subway. I would highly recommend this hostel if you are in D.C
  • 97%
  • 24 Dec 2016 Anonymous Singapore
  • The man who ran breakfast every morning was superb! Friendly, professional and informative, and swapped easily from English to Spanish for those guests that required it.
  • 86%
  • 23 Nov 2016 Morgan New Zealand
  • For security, you can let your luggage after check out in a 4$ locker. The location is great, you can visit almost everything by foot. The staff is nice and welcoming. You can feel there is a good atmosphere, people on holiday can't be in a bad mood! About the cleanliness it isn't the hostel the problem but more the other customer who don't wash after themselves the shower (hair for example or paper on the floor).It still feels too expensive for staying in a bunk bed. The breakfast is great!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. You seem to have enjoyed yourself and participated in experiencing all that our hostel has to offer. We appreciate your feedback, it helps us in making everyone's stay better. Safe travel!

  • 77%
  • 18 Oct 2016 juliette France
  • Allover a good hostel.
    Owner Comment

    Great! You loved your stay! Thank you for your sweet comment! We look forward to seeing you soon! Safe travels!

  • 91%
  • 20 Sep 2016 Anonymous Iceland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »