See other Washington DC properties

HI Washington DC

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 85% from 67 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great Place
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Anonymous England
  • best location and staffs are very friendly. the room and bathroom are clean. definitely recommend it.
  • 94%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • It's a big, multistory type of hostel that seems always packed with groups of school children visiting DC which might kill the atmosphere a bit. That said, it runs smoothly and lacks nothing. Breakfast is decent, staff is friendly and helpful, it’s quite clean and both security and location are excellent. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.
  • 89%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Anonymous Croatia
  • I lost my wallet and it was returned, so I was very happy!
  • 100%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Jack USA
  • HI is in a good location in DC so you can walk everywhere. However as someone travelling alone, it's a TERRIBLE hostel. There is no atmosphere or character in the hostel. The cleaning and maintenance staff even walked around with earphones in so that they didn't have to talk to people. It felt like a factory just processing travellers through with no interest in the individual. If you want to travel alone and meet people, DO NOT stay here- stay somewhere smaller.
  • 60%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Ngaire Australia
  • Pro: Very nice breakfast, activities organized by hostel staff for free, free banana, quite clean. Con: Wifi quite slow, only one elevator serving 8 floors and hundreds of guests, short beds. Overall a very good value for money.
  • 89%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hungary
  • The hostel is very well located, there is a bus that goes directly from the bus station to two blocks away from the hostel. The facilities were good and the people working there were super kind. Another thing that is really good, is that the price you are told to pay there is final price, you don't get surprised by extras due to taxes, something extremely good when you're a student and have a budget!
  • 86%
  • 29 May 2015 Melanie Argentina
  • Comfortable, close to convention centre and metro, however it has limited toilet facilities and compared to Chicago this is is much smaller. The lounge and common areas are congested in evenings.
  • 86%
  • 15 May 2015 Rakesh India
  • Excellent, I recommend to everyone.
  • 94%
  • 13 May 2015 Dennys Brazil
  • AIR CONDITION SHOULD STOP AT NIGHT.
  • 60%
  • 28 Apr 2015 Anonymous Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »