See other Baltimore properties

HI-Baltimore

17 West Mulberry Street, Baltimore, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 75% from 18 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a good choice, as I slept well and saved money. The room was rather small and dense with 1 chair and 4 lockers for 8 guests, but bed was comfortable and clean and functioning restroom and showers are attached to the room as well as very close to it. The cozy lobby is big and nicely designed. The well-equipped kitchen offers breakfast, that is limited to self-prepared pancakes. You can however keep your own ingredients in the refrigerator. Staff varies from matter-of-fact to nice.
  • 80%
  • 23 Nov 2013 Amitai Israel
  • Except bathroom become storage n no door lock. the rest are good.
  • 66%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Lai Kwan Consan
  • Stunning location opposite the United States' first ever cathedral but seriously over priced at $35-38 per night for a dorm bed. Unlike most HI hostels they do NOT offer breakfast as they claim - a pancake mix with a bizarrely complicated serious of instructions to find cooking pots 'n' pans is NOT breakfast. There was also no coffee. The staff were also incredibly useless.
  • 66%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous Scotland
  • The only thing I didn't like about the hostel is that you aren't allowed to bring guess over. Other than that, no complaints.
  • 60%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Everthing was Ok. Just air conditional was horrible when you are sleeping with more people. Is noisy and too cold in the room. STAFF is nice. Good Location
  • 71%
  • 08 Jul 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • I was really impressed by HI-Baltimore. The hostel is in a great location not far from the Inner Harbor. The building itself is charming and offers parking for a budget friendly $8 a day. The rooms are large and spacious and there were two bathrooms in my room. The shared spaces are great; the kitchen is large and has a really nice outdoor patio next to it. I will definitely stay here again should I return to Baltimore. The only thing I'd say is this is not a party hostel, its more relaxed.
  • 94%
  • 14 Jun 2013 Anonymous
  • great friendly staff, unique decoration, huge hall
  • 89%
  • 11 Jun 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • you need to cook your breakfast
  • 100%
  • 30 May 2013 Anonymous China
  • they refused to honor the price at which I booked the room on hostels.com,trying to charge me about double the agreed price and refusing to discuss the issue though I showed them the email indicating the price I had agreed to pay. Spent a lovely night in the rest stop on I-95. Caveat emptor, avoid this hostel.
  • 60%
  • 26 Apr 2013 Anonymous USA
  • reservation was not held for customer do to HI-Baltimore staff error with check in name.
  • 66%
  • 19 Apr 2013 susan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »