See other Banff properties

HI-Banff Alpine Centre

#801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 85% from 23 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved this hostel, there was plenty of space in the rooms with lights and plugs by the bed. It was very cosy like a chalet with amazing views of the mountains, being up the mountain it was great having a free bus pass to get into town. The kitchen was large and had a nice dining area and the communal area was nice with sofas also having wifi which worked everywhere is always a bonus.
  • 89%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Olivia England
  • I enjoyed the time I spend here. it is a good place to stay.
  • 91%
  • 11 Apr 2015 solmaz Iran
  • A couple of my friends and I stayed here during a weekend ski trip. The hostel has a good party atmosphere - the bar downstairs was having a karaoke night when we arrived the first and the hostel offered a pub crawl (for $2) our 3rd night - although they are pretty strict about being loud after hours, which is a good thing if you are trying to sleep. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the staff were mostly really nice and accommodating. The hostel also offers a restaurant that serves B/L/D.
  • 94%
  • 16 Jan 2015 Kayla USA
  • Had an awesome time and an awesome experience!
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Very helpful staff, good information about surroundings and possibilities to participate in cool activities!
  • 94%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Sarah
  • Service was fast, friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and cozy. Washrooms were well maintained.
  • 89%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Kris Canada
  • The bed is so good to sleep ,,,,, I can have deep rest there
  • 74%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Came in late because I had to drive in from Calgary. Checkin was quick and efficient. I had forgotten my HI card, but the staff was very accommodating and looked me up in the system. Locked my food up in the kitchen, intending to get up at 0500 and continue on my way, and realized at 0515 that the kitchen is locked from 11 pm to 06 am. Really? When I finally found a staff member, they explained that it was for insurance. I don't buy that. People need to get up early and eat sometimes!
  • 83%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Cathrine Canada
  • The dorms were surprisingly luxurious. Toilet and sink in the dorm. We had to pay more than hostels.com said. We knew we had to pay 10% more, because we are not HI-members, but still we had to pay 10$ more. When I said something about it, the staff said it was normal. No further explanation was given.
  • 86%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Sarie Belgium
  • Located on the bus line and they let you borrow a bus pass, awesome perk! There is a great back patio with good views, great kitchen facilities, free wifi, bar with live music, secure building w/ key card access. Bathrooms only had 2 showers, kind of dingy. Basement dorm was hot and no fan or AC. Staff was always very busy. Big hostel, commercial feeling, not very personal, not much character. Good value for the area though.
  • 74%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Casey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »