See other Banff properties

HI-Banff Alpine Centre

#801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 84% from 26 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Came in late because I had to drive in from Calgary. Checkin was quick and efficient. I had forgotten my HI card, but the staff was very accommodating and looked me up in the system. Locked my food up in the kitchen, intending to get up at 0500 and continue on my way, and realized at 0515 that the kitchen is locked from 11 pm to 06 am. Really? When I finally found a staff member, they explained that it was for insurance. I don't buy that. People need to get up early and eat sometimes!
  • 83%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Cathrine Canada
  • The dorms were surprisingly luxurious. Toilet and sink in the dorm. We had to pay more than hostels.com said. We knew we had to pay 10% more, because we are not HI-members, but still we had to pay 10$ more. When I said something about it, the staff said it was normal. No further explanation was given.
  • 86%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Sarie Belgium
  • Located on the bus line and they let you borrow a bus pass, awesome perk! There is a great back patio with good views, great kitchen facilities, free wifi, bar with live music, secure building w/ key card access. Bathrooms only had 2 showers, kind of dingy. Basement dorm was hot and no fan or AC. Staff was always very busy. Big hostel, commercial feeling, not very personal, not much character. Good value for the area though.
  • 74%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Casey
  • This hostel is very clean and comfortable. I had a great experience there.
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Cheapest in price nd good for living I ll go again ther
  • 86%
  • 28 Jul 2014 BHUMIKA India
  • Th hostel itself was quiet ok. So, the AC in the rooms was not sufficient. Additionally, there was not really something to sit outside in the evening, because then all tables were used for the restaurant. I personally, was fully disapointed that the Wifi was broken when I arrived and that they needed 3!!! days to fix it.
  • 63%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Merle Germany
  • We booked a 4 person mixed dorm and were placed in a 6 person mixed dorm. We're in our late 20s and there for biking, hiking, and a bunch of other outdoorsy stuff so weren't too interested in late night partying which I guess added to the annoyance of hearing drunk people talking loudly and coming back and forth in front of our room door at 3AM. There is a "quiet time" after 11PM but it's not enforced and wasn't respected by some guests. Only 1 of 6 computers were working for guest use.
  • 71%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous
  • I had an awesome stay here! Staff was very friendly, location was great as it felt like you were up in the mountains. Really great value for what you pay.
  • 100%
  • 14 May 2014 Natalie Canada
  • Excellent staff& atmosphere
  • 86%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • The constant noise and running down the haul ways, yelling and screaming as teenagers played from 9:30 p.m. to all hours of the morning is rediculous and needs to be addresse. Secondly, having a T.V. in the eating area beside the kicthen is not appropriate and joyful when you want to relax to a nice meal. The volume is set to the highest levels and ruins the atmosphere for all others, and when the individuals were asked to turn the volue down you could tell that they were not happy about it.
  • 74%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Les Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »