See other Calgary properties

HI-Calgary City Centre

520-7th Avenue S.E., Calgary T2G 0J6, Calgary, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.7km

Rating: 92% from 16 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Enjoyed our stay, had a wonderful visit. Only recommendation - being earplugs and sleep mask. Our room faced the light rail, bells and whistles went off every 5.5 minutes all night long. Facilities were great. Very clean. If you rent a car make sure you get parking early in afternoon or evening. By 9p it was full up. Plenty of street parking but car had to be moved by 9a. Overall, enjoyed our stay.
  • 83%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Chana USA
  • Had some trouble with people i think it should be alcohol free but it was only two that could give the hostal a bad name overall great place to stay.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for the negative experience you had and appreciate your positive comments overall. We like to give guests the opportunity to unwind and have a couple drinks with friends, but rest assured we do have policy regarding where and when alcohol is allowed. We also try to ensure that belligerent guests are dealt with immediately and will work even harder to make sure that this is enforced. Many thanks, Jason Wong, Manager

  • 94%
  • 23 Dec 2014 john Ireland
  • The breakfast is just amazing. The hostel provide for you all the bed sheet, as well as towels free to take it. The location is really good, just beside train stations and buses. The hostel is in Downtown Calgary, near from malls ans a lot of attractions. Sometimes the staff was not at the mood to give information, but they were never rude or unavailable. Thank you guys for my day in Hi City Center Hostel.
    Owner Comment

    So glad to hear you enjoyed the free breakfast and other free amenities! We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and visit many attractions. We work hard to provide great customer service and I will talk to my team to make sure that we give off the right attitude because we are truly always happy to help. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers Jason Wong, Manager

  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous
  • I stayed here for 2weeks and had a great time. Met some boss people. Location is excellent. Convenient to the train and bus routes. Staff are very accommodating and always keen to help. Would have no problem going back.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for leaving a review on hostels.com. It is great to hear that you met new people and took advantage of the location and free train! Our staff appreciates your compliments on our work. We hope you are able to come back soon! Regards, Jason Wong, Manager

  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Paul Ireland
  • I had great fun at Hi-Calgary. It was a brilliant combination of the right people in the right place on the right moment. The hostel is close to the city center, but also close to a rehab facility and in the middle of a couple of construction sites. There are a lot of homeless people in the greens around the hostel, but in the time I stayed there, none of them misbehaved or bothered anybody. No need to feel disconcerted about them.
    Owner Comment

    We're so happy to hear you had fun here and enjoyed the atmosphere. We look forward to the improvements in the community once construction is over - even more attractions right outside our door! Being on the edge of downtown, police patrols are increased and as you said, guests have nothing to worry about as there have been no incidents with the homeless. Thank you for your feedback! Jason Wong, Manager

  • 94%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Hilke
  • Overall great hostel. One of the best hostels that I stayed at. Staff is amazing. The location just 5 min walk to the core. The hostel is very clean. Free breakfast with glad selections. Price is very cheap. Highly recommended!!
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2014 YUN JEONG(Claire) South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »