See other Calgary properties

HI-Calgary City Centre

520-7th Avenue S.E., Calgary T2G 0J6, Calgary, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.7km

Rating: 93% from 13 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The breakfast is just amazing. The hostel provide for you all the bed sheet, as well as towels free to take it. The location is really good, just beside train stations and buses. The hostel is in Downtown Calgary, near from malls ans a lot of attractions. Sometimes the staff was not at the mood to give information, but they were never rude or unavailable. Thank you guys for my day in Hi City Center Hostel.
  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous
  • I stayed here for 2weeks and had a great time. Met some boss people. Location is excellent. Convenient to the train and bus routes. Staff are very accommodating and always keen to help. Would have no problem going back.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Paul Ireland
  • I had great fun at Hi-Calgary. It was a brilliant combination of the right people in the right place on the right moment. The hostel is close to the city center, but also close to a rehab facility and in the middle of a couple of construction sites. There are a lot of homeless people in the greens around the hostel, but in the time I stayed there, none of them misbehaved or bothered anybody. No need to feel disconcerted about them.
  • 94%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Hilke
  • Overall great hostel. One of the best hostels that I stayed at. Staff is amazing. The location just 5 min walk to the core. The hostel is very clean. Free breakfast with glad selections. Price is very cheap. Highly recommended!!
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2014 YUN JEONG(Claire) South Korea
  • I loved my stay here.Free tea and breakfast in the morning was a wonderful bonus, and for the price, it really can't be beat. Lots of seating in the kitchen and a nice common room. The walk is very short to get to the downtown area and the staff was very helpful. Parking was difficult at first, but that was because of an event going on nearby, and it was easy enough to move the car to the free lot the next morning. I would highly recommend this hostel for your stay in Calgary.
  • 100%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Marias USA
  • The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and the location couldn't be better. I felt secure that my luggage was safe and the atmosphere was great as I got to meet fellow travelers from all over the world. I would recommend this hostel to anybody travelling through Calgary and I feel that it is great value for the money. It is located right in the heart of downtown Calgary and therefore makes getting around the city quit easy and accessible. I plan to become a member and recommend it
  • 94%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • It was a quiet, comfy place to stay. I had trouble finding the hostel.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you had a hard time finding the hostel. Our directions are listed on the website. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, Jason Wong

  • 89%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Brienne Canada
  • Had a good nights sleep in a a bright, clean, comfortable, and secure hostel that had helpful relaxed staff who made the stay enjoyable. The free pool table and big screen satellite TV made for a friendly atmosphere and even the making of new friends. Decks and couches made for many comfy places to sit and relax after your day is over.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the newly renovated hostel. Best regards, Jason Wong

  • 97%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Doug Canada
  • i guess you pay for what you get, the hi calgary is well located, well maintained and clean. but at night they was a door room that kept opening and closing for a few days.The atmosphere is very conductive and friendly. you meet lots of poeple from differnents countries and background and the staff is friendly and very helpful.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at HI-Calgary and found the atmosphere of our hostel to be conductive and friendly. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Jason Wong

  • 77%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Gildas Patrick England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »