See other Montreal properties

HI-Montréal

1030 Mackay Street, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 81% from 37 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed for 3 nights in this hostel. It was bright and clean. Food is really good ( incl. Eggs, Bagels,Fruits and more). The facilities are normal but the location is the reason to choose this hostel. 1 minute Walk to Metro station, 5 minutes walk to the beginning of downtown (Restaurants,Bars,Shops). About 15 minutes walk to Tourist Information. The staffs are nice and helpful and all of them speak english and french. I will definitly come back :-)
  • 83%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The wifi connection was bad in the room, I had to go to the hallway to do the internet but then there is room to sit down at the hallway to do that. The wifi in lower level was good but it gets noisy near the pool table and the area close to the vending machines was not great either as the fridges are noisy. Security was not great as my dorm mate brought in a man to stay overnight, if the wifi was good, I would have emailed from my bed to notify the front desk.
  • 83%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • The price that I got one the website is not the same as what I got billed.
  • 69%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Jason Canada
  • I had a really wonderful time at this hostel. The rooms were very clean and I loved that there was a bar and restaurant/dining area on site. Everyone I met who worked there was helpful and friendly and made me feel more welcome than I have felt at many other hostels. I also loved that this hostel had daily events. I was traveling alone and found that it was really easy to meet and befriend other travelers while on the various tours and pub crawls.
  • 97%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Bed bugs. First time ever. Blanket given was not clean. Laundry situation not good. Great staff, poor quality upkeep on most important stuff. I guess at $15 a night you get what you pay for. Beg bugs is disgusting.
  • 60%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • There is no parking, you can park on the street if there are spaces, but you gotta move your car at 930-1030 in the morning. If you're partying and hungover, you can't really do this.
  • 54%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Jose Martin Canada
  • the activities were good. It felt like the people who worked there were family.
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It's a very good place to stay. It's a bit far from downtown, but you can go on foot. Facilities are Ok.
  • 77%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Will choose this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Adam Canada
  • The hostel was great. The reason I gave it a lower mark on the facilities was that I was unable to find an alternate WC on the same floor. When you share a room with other travellers having an extra or alternate WC option goes a long way. Other than that, it was a great place to crash for the night. Alice at the front desk was very nice and incredibly accommodating. I had a phone 'adaptateur' problem and she went out of her way to assist me. Thumbs up.
  • 97%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »