See other Montreal properties

HI-Montréal

1030 Mackay Street, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 83% from 30 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Will choose this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Adam Canada
  • The hostel was great. The reason I gave it a lower mark on the facilities was that I was unable to find an alternate WC on the same floor. When you share a room with other travellers having an extra or alternate WC option goes a long way. Other than that, it was a great place to crash for the night. Alice at the front desk was very nice and incredibly accommodating. I had a phone 'adaptateur' problem and she went out of her way to assist me. Thumbs up.
  • 97%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location and great staff!
  • 100%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous China
  • The bar closed earlier than most the bars in the city. Not allowed to bring in alcohol. No parking, though you might get lucky with a spot. Bathrooms not the cleanest. Kitchen/lounge area pretty small. Staff very friendly.
  • 71%
  • 16 May 2014 Shelby Canada
  • The staff was super friendly, smilling and helpful. I was scared that they would only be speaking French, but they spoke English too.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2014 Jette Skjoldborg Denmark
  • friendly staffs, many activity, clean facilities
  • 97%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This was my first time ever staying in a Hostel and the experience was awsome. I stayed when there was a 5 alarm fire in the building right beside it but still managed to feel relaxed. Most likely because of the very welcoming staff and clients. Great autmosphere! Perfect location to many tourist locations both when walking and/or using the metro.
  • 89%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The rooms were small considering how many beds there were. Normally I like small, but with other backpackers also rifling through their things, it gets quite stuffy. The cafe is very nice with a pool table, bar and adequate seating for dozens of folks. There are several vending machines too. Between the vending machine's hums and the basement cafe's lack of windows, it's quite loud and enclosed down there. I'm more for one for wide spaces and tranquility.
  • 94%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Spencer USA
  • I really enjoyed my time in Montreal and the Hostel was as good as the travel guide said. The staff was friendly and helpful and there was always someone available to answer my questions. There was always something going on, one day it was a walk around the city, another time it was a bar tour. So, even if you were travelling alone, there were lots of opportunities to meet people. Although the breakfast was not breath taking, it was nice and already included in the price. I can only recommend it
  • 86%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Anne Germany
  • One of the best hostels I stayed! The 4 female dorm (1st floor) was very comfortable and cleaned every day. Staff was also helpful.
  • 91%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »