See other Ottawa properties

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 80% from 30 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall very good but the rooms were very noisy since there were bars instead of walls or windows. Other than that it was a nice place to stay.
  • 89%
  • 26 Oct 2014 Frida Sweden
  • Worth for the money I spent
  • 80%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous Bangladesh
  • Everything about the hostel is amazing. The rooms are nice and cool, you get a free jail tour. Breakfast is tasty etc. The only thing I didn't like is that they had music on past 12 within the hostel and it was so loud. Anyone wanting to sleep would have struggled. Apart from that it was great and I would stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Mike England
  • Booked myself into a single cell and had a good laugh when I saw the size of where I'd be sleeping for the next 4 nights. Yes, the noise of the people banging doors and being inconsiderate was frustrating, as was the fact there were only 2 showers for women in the whole building, but this is a hostel, you have to deal with inconveniences and it was a fun experience! Everyone who saw photos of my 'room' immediately responded with, 'Cool!' The staff I met were awesome - I recommend the pub crawl!
  • 91%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Deborah Scotland
  • Good location and cool experience staying in a jail. Bathroom situation is annoying though.
  • 77%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Wonderful. One of the best hostel I've ever stayed. Sleep in a jail is so funny. :)
  • 100%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Overall great experience. Only complain is that nobody warned us about how much noise carries. I imagine other people had the same experience and because of this my roommate and I noticed that many people do not seem conscious of how far and loud their conversations travel. Parking was great and cheap, easy walk to everything, and for how old the building is the facilities and halls and rooms were surprisingly clean. Wifi was also far more reliable than I'm used to finding.
  • 83%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • really nice clean bathroom and showers, best I've seen in the hostels so far. the building is definitely haunted though, my daughter was afraid for the spirits presence. I thought it was great, however. really great location.
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Olga Russia
  • wish the ATM was working or that the in hostel pub accepted USD :(
  • 80%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Neha India
  • That was a very interesting experience.I had a single cell ( tiny) for 5 days and honestly ,unless you are claustrophobic you will have no problem.Small room gets you to spend more time in the common areas and meet a lot of intresting people.I had a great time. It is former jail so I don't understand what people that complain were expecting. The only warning- they have concerts few times a week and it is VERY LOUD,make sure to have your earplugs with you Love the location.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Bozena Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »