See other Ottawa properties

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 82% from 29 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No paranormal experiences to be had. Other than that, the location was fantastic, the atmosphere was great, and getting to learn the history of the hostel during the tour was a great bonus! Only recommendation would be better WiFi- the connection was spotty at best. For a first-time hosteller, this was a fantastic experience, and I'll be sure to recommend the hostel to my friends travelling in the region!
  • 91%
  • 06 May 2015 Andrea Canada
  • The whole place is great, but due to the way that the rooms are set up it is very likely that you'll be woken up in the morning by people in the hall. You can hear almost anyone in the hall talking since the rooms aren't completely sealed off. This is my only complaint about the hostel. The staff was great and the location is awesome.
  • 80%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I had a nice stay at jail hostel. My only comment is the water pressure on the 9th floor wash and bathroom. I stayed at john room the small fridge is not working that good and also hope they can also fix the sink n faucet in that room. Everything is perfect!!!
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Overall very good but the rooms were very noisy since there were bars instead of walls or windows. Other than that it was a nice place to stay.
  • 89%
  • 26 Oct 2014 Frida Sweden
  • Worth for the money I spent
  • 80%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous Bangladesh
  • Everything about the hostel is amazing. The rooms are nice and cool, you get a free jail tour. Breakfast is tasty etc. The only thing I didn't like is that they had music on past 12 within the hostel and it was so loud. Anyone wanting to sleep would have struggled. Apart from that it was great and I would stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Mike England
  • Booked myself into a single cell and had a good laugh when I saw the size of where I'd be sleeping for the next 4 nights. Yes, the noise of the people banging doors and being inconsiderate was frustrating, as was the fact there were only 2 showers for women in the whole building, but this is a hostel, you have to deal with inconveniences and it was a fun experience! Everyone who saw photos of my 'room' immediately responded with, 'Cool!' The staff I met were awesome - I recommend the pub crawl!
  • 91%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Deborah Scotland
  • Good location and cool experience staying in a jail. Bathroom situation is annoying though.
  • 77%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Wonderful. One of the best hostel I've ever stayed. Sleep in a jail is so funny. :)
  • 100%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Overall great experience. Only complain is that nobody warned us about how much noise carries. I imagine other people had the same experience and because of this my roommate and I noticed that many people do not seem conscious of how far and loud their conversations travel. Parking was great and cheap, easy walk to everything, and for how old the building is the facilities and halls and rooms were surprisingly clean. Wifi was also far more reliable than I'm used to finding.
  • 83%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »