See other Ottawa properties

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 82% from 39 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Interesting hostel in old jail building. Friendly, helpful staff. Internet signal not strong in dorms but probably due to the thick walls.
  • 83%
  • 07 Oct 2015 Anonymous Scotland
  • So excellent and nice staffs here and perfect location as well
  • 97%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Anonymous China
  • The worst place I have ever been, the cells are so ugly, bathrooms so dirty, no elevator and I was at level eight. I would never stay there, not even they pay to me.
  • 49%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Cinthia Mexico
  • All credits to tours! I absolutely loved jail tour and city tour. Our tour guide girl was really nice and brought us to all the nice places in town. Plus, breakfast was real nice. Rooms, beds, and sleeping conditions in general were not so great, but well, it's a former jail. So I don't complain about it. The only thing is that I got some bug bites next morning and they lasted on my skin for a while.
  • 80%
  • 27 Sep 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • amazing place! excellent location! Thank you!!!
  • 100%
  • 26 Sep 2015 marcos vinicius Brazil
  • Loved the vibe. Wonderful, curteous staff and the room (4 bed dorm) was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathrooms were fine, remembering that this is a hostel, not a hotel. Would certainly stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 11 Sep 2015 Karen Canada
  • It's very special living in jail. But it's not very convenient. Probably because of the structure of the building, the wifi was poor. The breakfast was good ( toast, jelly, butter, juice, milk, cheerios, fruit!!). Every morning there is free tour to explore the jail.
  • 77%
  • 03 Sep 2015 Anonymous China
  • Terrible. Words can't describe how terrible. REALLY dirty, noisy and extremely uncomfortable. They should call it Jail Experience and not a Hostel because it's not suitable. Also, not really frequented by the youth. The speakers inviting you to have breakfast and other activities ruined it even more by making impossible to relax since you already can hear EVERYTHING on the hallways and other cells. Good location but it's definetely not worth it. I hated everything about it.
  • 43%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Patrícia Brazil
  • Maybe better hair dryer can be better, but other things are very good!
  • 89%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • It was wonderful, amazing.... My friend and I loved spending one night in Hi - Ottawa Jail. Our "room jail" is so interesting....small but confortable. I reaally appreciate...😃
  • 94%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Maria Aparecida Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »