See other Ottawa properties

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 81% from 21 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I didn't really like the place. It's good for the price, but it was really freaky. I couldn't stay more than a night. I really didn't like that the shower room was so far away from your room. And it's not a good place to meet people. Great location though.
  • 74%
  • 09 Aug 2016 Kathryn Japan
  • The staff were extremely friendly and the location was great.
  • 91%
  • 20 Mar 2016 Matilda Australia
  • Parking was a mess. Lady at front desk was unhelpful, gave us misinformation about nightlife. Facilities were grimy and the rooms were hardly 'refurbished' as advertised. The painting in the room also detracted from the atmosphere, which seemed to only contain the negatives of a prison. It was far too expensive for the experience we got.
  • 43%
  • 05 Mar 2016 Matthew
  • Unbeatable location - within walking distance of everything! Very friendly staff, adequate security, reasonable cleanliness. But the old cells were built to NOT block sound, so you can hear everything from the rooms while you're in the hall and vice verse. The bars are left open at the top of the cell to maintain circulation, which lets in all the light from the hall. And the rooms are TINY - there's barely room for two people to stand up at the same time in the four-person dorm.
  • 77%
  • 30 Jan 2016 Ellen Canada
  • The staff here are just amazing. I came in late (1:30 am) and they were super friendly, quick registration, and right up to my cell I went. The history here is awesome as well, and the haunted tour is definitely worth taking
  • 100%
  • 30 Dec 2015 Stephanie
  • Good and confortable stay! Very quiet.
  • 89%
  • 24 Dec 2015 YAPING China
  • Interesting hostel in old jail building. Friendly, helpful staff. Internet signal not strong in dorms but probably due to the thick walls.
  • 83%
  • 07 Oct 2015 Anonymous Scotland
  • So excellent and nice staffs here and perfect location as well
  • 97%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Anonymous China
  • The worst place I have ever been, the cells are so ugly, bathrooms so dirty, no elevator and I was at level eight. I would never stay there, not even they pay to me.
  • 49%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Cinthia Mexico
  • All credits to tours! I absolutely loved jail tour and city tour. Our tour guide girl was really nice and brought us to all the nice places in town. Plus, breakfast was real nice. Rooms, beds, and sleeping conditions in general were not so great, but well, it's a former jail. So I don't complain about it. The only thing is that I got some bug bites next morning and they lasted on my skin for a while.
  • 80%
  • 27 Sep 2015 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »