See other Ottawa properties

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 79% from 26 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wonderful. One of the best hostel I've ever stayed. Sleep in a jail is so funny. :)
  • 100%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Overall great experience. Only complain is that nobody warned us about how much noise carries. I imagine other people had the same experience and because of this my roommate and I noticed that many people do not seem conscious of how far and loud their conversations travel. Parking was great and cheap, easy walk to everything, and for how old the building is the facilities and halls and rooms were surprisingly clean. Wifi was also far more reliable than I'm used to finding.
  • 83%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • really nice clean bathroom and showers, best I've seen in the hostels so far. the building is definitely haunted though, my daughter was afraid for the spirits presence. I thought it was great, however. really great location.
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Olga Russia
  • wish the ATM was working or that the in hostel pub accepted USD :(
  • 80%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Neha India
  • That was a very interesting experience.I had a single cell ( tiny) for 5 days and honestly ,unless you are claustrophobic you will have no problem.Small room gets you to spend more time in the common areas and meet a lot of intresting people.I had a great time. It is former jail so I don't understand what people that complain were expecting. The only warning- they have concerts few times a week and it is VERY LOUD,make sure to have your earplugs with you Love the location.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Bozena Canada
  • Bathrooms and showers were filthy. Also not secure at all. They might put some fans up on each floor--the humidity was sweltering. It was suffocating. I couldn't stand it. I booked a "single with shared bathroom" thinking I was booking one of the larger singles and that it shared a bathroom with one other room--but I guess I actually booked the extremely claustrophobic authentic cell. Which shares a bathroom with the entire floor. That was disappointing. Renaming of booking-types please.
  • 54%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • An unique experience
  • 66%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I stayed here with my sis during Ottawa Race Weekend and loved how it was so close to the event. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, beforehand it took several email exchanges before staff emailed the correct cost/breakdown (staff who responded in between didn't answer my questions or realize their calculation was incorrect). You might need earplugs depending on your room (loud music was blaring at night and it was too hot to close the window). Otherwise, a great value. :)
  • 80%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel manager needs to be on top of repairs, including broken toilets and locks, and decide if this is to be abhostel or theme park. They bring tours thru the jail most evenings so if you enjoy a lot of screaming kids until 11pm, its fine. Overpriced for very little service, little available amenities, and crappy front desk staff. However, close to all you want to see in Ottawa.
  • 69%
  • 11 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very particular, you cannot forget sleeping in a jail. Breakfast included in the price was very well.
  • 94%
  • 01 May 2014 Anonymous Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »