See other Ottawa properties

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 77% from 29 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • An unique experience
  • 66%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I stayed here with my sis during Ottawa Race Weekend and loved how it was so close to the event. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, beforehand it took several email exchanges before staff emailed the correct cost/breakdown (staff who responded in between didn't answer my questions or realize their calculation was incorrect). You might need earplugs depending on your room (loud music was blaring at night and it was too hot to close the window). Otherwise, a great value. :)
  • 80%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel manager needs to be on top of repairs, including broken toilets and locks, and decide if this is to be abhostel or theme park. They bring tours thru the jail most evenings so if you enjoy a lot of screaming kids until 11pm, its fine. Overpriced for very little service, little available amenities, and crappy front desk staff. However, close to all you want to see in Ottawa.
  • 69%
  • 11 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very particular, you cannot forget sleeping in a jail. Breakfast included in the price was very well.
  • 94%
  • 01 May 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • I payed a high price and I did not have a wifi in my room and the breakfast was not good like was said in the website.
  • 60%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Priscila Brazil
  • Wifi didn't reach certain places
  • 94%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Sarah
  • We booked the hostel based on its heritage and that it was a member of hosteling international. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed with our overall experience and were glad it was not for more than one night. Temperatures outside hit -30 and our room was cold and without additional blankets or heaters. Breakfast was nothing short of toast and coffee, with food running out and only one staff on shift.
  • 60%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Rachel Canada
  • very cool hostel
  • 100%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Kiel Canada
  • Not very clean and some how they managed to double book my bed...not the best way to be woken up. Also the rooms weren't particularly clean and the floors always seemed a little dirty. For a hotel with bags of atmosphere being an old prison, this was a little bit of a let down, spoiling my stay and leaving me a little bit disappointed.
  • 63%
  • 17 Oct 2013 David England
  • This is totally disaster. Never again.
  • 34%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »