See other Ottawa properties

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 83% from 34 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Terrible. Words can't describe how terrible. REALLY dirty, noisy and extremely uncomfortable. They should call it Jail Experience and not a Hostel because it's not suitable. Also, not really frequented by the youth. The speakers inviting you to have breakfast and other activities ruined it even more by making impossible to relax since you already can hear EVERYTHING on the hallways and other cells. Good location but it's definetely not worth it. I hated everything about it.
  • 43%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Patrícia Brazil
  • Maybe better hair dryer can be better, but other things are very good!
  • 89%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • It was wonderful, amazing.... My friend and I loved spending one night in Hi - Ottawa Jail. Our "room jail" is so interesting....small but confortable. I reaally appreciate...😃
  • 94%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Maria Aparecida Brazil
  • Cool concept. It's a bit annoying that sounds carry so much (woke me up a few times) but the staff was awesome and it was awesome value. Great location literally steps from the mall.
  • 100%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Douglas Canada
  • That was amazing!! So cool experience!
  • 100%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Pauliina Finland
  • I was bored. The atmosphere killed it for me.
  • 71%
  • 14 Jul 2015 maja
  • Nice location to get to the major sightseeing point. valuable price, friendly staffs, amazing experience to stay in the jail. it's funny though. I really like here!
  • 91%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Excellent! Would stay the night again.
  • 86%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Criztal Mexico
  • the hostel is awesome
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Tzu Yu Taiwan
  • No paranormal experiences to be had. Other than that, the location was fantastic, the atmosphere was great, and getting to learn the history of the hostel during the tour was a great bonus! Only recommendation would be better WiFi- the connection was spotty at best. For a first-time hosteller, this was a fantastic experience, and I'll be sure to recommend the hostel to my friends travelling in the region!
  • 91%
  • 06 May 2015 Andrea Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »