See other Ottawa properties

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel

75 Nicholas Street, Ontario, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 77% from 27 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We booked the hostel based on its heritage and that it was a member of hosteling international. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed with our overall experience and were glad it was not for more than one night. Temperatures outside hit -30 and our room was cold and without additional blankets or heaters. Breakfast was nothing short of toast and coffee, with food running out and only one staff on shift.
  • 60%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Rachel Canada
  • very cool hostel
  • 100%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Kiel Canada
  • Not very clean and some how they managed to double book my bed...not the best way to be woken up. Also the rooms weren't particularly clean and the floors always seemed a little dirty. For a hotel with bags of atmosphere being an old prison, this was a little bit of a let down, spoiling my stay and leaving me a little bit disappointed.
  • 63%
  • 17 Oct 2013 David England
  • This is totally disaster. Never again.
  • 34%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Anonymous Poland
  • brilliant! nothing more to say!
  • 94%
  • 04 Sep 2013 Maximilian Germany
  • Great atmosphere and really unique hostel.
  • 89%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It was a pleasure staying at the hostel. I was surprised about the 'cell' space though and after the first initial shock enjoyed sleeping in this cosy tiny space. The eating room was great as well as it allowed people to sit together at the large tables and chat. The kitchen staff didn't seem to enjoy their work however. They did not greet or acknowledge people entering the room. The breakfast was excellent. Thank you very much, I certainly would stay again and recommend the hostel to anyone.
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2013 ulrike Germany
  • The hostel's location was great. We were able to see everything just by walking. The atmosphere of the hostel was quite interesting, since the place used to be a jail. The downside was the cleanliness of the bathroom and bedsheets. I've noticed that the blankets were just folded and reused without any previous washing.
  • 77%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Lucas Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »