See other San Francisco properties

HI-San Francisco-Fisherman's Wharf

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 86% from 28 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location. Love the fact they had a secure area for my bike and free parking.
  • 97%
  • 13 Mar 2014 jordan USA
  • Overall, a great experience. Being able to stay at Fort Mason is truly an exceptional opportunity to access and explore the city of San Diego. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pretty decent, though the coffee should be only for the brave. I stayed in the women's-only room and found the piping and vents caused a ruckus throughout the night. The lockers are a great size to store your bag or backpack. Highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 24 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Overall very pleased with the accommodations and stay. This was the first hostel experience so do not have anything to compare to. Thought it was extremely organized, particularly the kitchen set up. First night stayed in the lower level private room which was too warm and a bit cramped. Second night on first floor private room which had high ceilings, more windows and was not as hot . Included breakfast was quite adequate. Would certainly come back again!
  • 83%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Christina USA
  • Was a fantastic place. Staff was wonderful., all was great except matress to springy and noisy
  • 91%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Dian USA
  • Generally an excellent place to wake up in the morning (not my first time here). The visit was unusually unpleasant only because: 1. We ended up with a crazy in the room. This is not particularly unusual in urban hostels, but always a bummer when it happens. 2. The room temperature was absurdly hot. Happily, we reached a consensus to open the window. 3. Heating and plumbing were the loudest I've ever experienced. Having been here before, I think the workaround is to room upstairs.
  • 80%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Stanley USA
  • Great place to stay in San Francisco. Friendly, accommodating staff. Fantastic location overlooking San Francisco Bay and a short walk to the Wharf or Marina area. Easy public transportation (city bus) to downtown area, Golden Gate Park, etc. Recommend it highly.
  • 89%
  • 17 Oct 2013 TED USA
  • I had a diversified experience. First night in 8-bed dorm, 2-3 guys went out drinking and returned very drunk(talking right outside the window for quite some time about stupid things at 2 am.) This was esp. disruptive as I was there with my 15-yr old son. Second night, I was able to get a private room for which I paid for a bed space we did not use. It was very nice & quiet w/ beautiful view. In dorm on first night, people left stuff all over floor so it was awkward to walk & climb into bunks.
  • 71%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Considering the price we paid, the rooms are super basic, a part of it quite noisy (not cars, but hostel guests and noises of the heating (?), small number of more or less dirty showers, small breakfast. The location is not in the center, so super quiet and with amazing view on Golden Gate Bridge. --> The view is THE Plus of the hostel! If there is no room in other hostels I would stay there again. For 1 or 2 nights it is fine, we stayed there for 6 or so, which is too long.
  • 66%
  • 17 Sep 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Great atmosphere, we walked in and received a very warm welcome from the staff at the desk who got us checked in quickly and showed us to our room. The room itself was large and despite being on the ground floor was not loud at all. We slept most nights with the windows open, unfortunately they didn't have screens so it was a bit unsafe but nothing happened anyway. The only complaints I have of the place is that the beds were slightly uncomfortable and there weren't enough power outlets.
  • 86%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Anonymous England
  • the staffs are very nice and friendly, the room is not big enough and air is not very good.
  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »