See other Toronto properties

HI-Toronto

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.8km

Rating: 84% from 58 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's a wonderful hostel to stay. It's near everything. They organized a lot of activities. Staff is so charming. They solve any problem you can have.
  • 91%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • This is such a great hostel. The staff are extremely friendly, organize daily trips for guests to go on. Definitely recommend doing one of these, you meet so many people just from it. In future, this will be my first place to look at when back in Toronto. Only downside is slow wifi, but you're in Toronto, it's a small sacrifice!
  • 97%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • My overall stay at HI- Toronto was really good! Rooms were reasonably clean and well-maintained. The staffs were nice and friendly. I would highly recommend it to travellers especially those who are travelling with a low budget.
  • 77%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • Breakfast took far way too long to get. The line was long and if you had an appointment that morning, you either forego the breakfast or miss the appointment. Otherwise it is a good hostel. I like it!
  • 94%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • WiFi is only really available in the common room, little if any in your room. The night light for each bed is a nice touch, it'd be nicer if it was plugged in or was in any way close to a wall socket. 1st night I was sitting in the common room & could see a puddle forming around the toilet there. I then saw 3 different members of staff use the toilet and none did anything about cleaning it up. Kitchen is closed at 9pm, so good luck if you're hungry when you get back late from sightseeing.
  • 60%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Michael Australia
  • Subway station "King" and Yonge street are close, Eaton Centre (big shopping mall) is a 15 minutes walk away, St. Lawrence market 7 minutes. Very friendly staff who is eager to answer your questions. Delicious breakfast (not only sweet!). Rooms are ok, nothing special, cleanliness needs to be approved.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous Austria
  • Everything about the hostel was great! Beds were super comfortable, bathrooms were really nice, staff was really friendly and helpful. The bar in the basement, which had live local music every night, attracted a really great crowd of people. I would recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Toronto.
  • 97%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Hollie USA
  • Jacqui , ne travail plus au Hi donc , c'est mort pour moi
  • 57%
  • 02 Jul 2014 olivier Martinique
  • Great experience overall. 2 blocks away from King subway station, has laundry, cafe, terrasse...I was in a 4-girls room, which is a little bit small too comfy. The bed makes noise though.
  • 94%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • Down by the financial district and close to the market, it's the typical HI experience complete with sometimes surly staff at the desk and wonky spaces in the common areas (Bar downstairs in the cellar has a fun vibe, but not the cleanest). They do provide meal vouchers (1 per day) where you can choose brkfst ,lunch, or dinner choices. Beds are good, housekeeping is great. Overall perfectly ok hostel.
  • 74%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »