See other Vancouver properties

HI-Vancouver Central

1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 81% from 35 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We stayed in a private double room with ensuite bathroom and found it comparable and even better than some nice hotels we've stayed in. Clean, comfortable beds and a bright, spacious bathroom were very appreciated. Lots and lots of electrical outlets for all our devices.
  • 89%
  • 06 May 2015 Laura Canada
  • The wifi signal wasnt reachable from my bedroom, 4th floor
  • 69%
  • 02 May 2015 Diosenia Josefa Italy
  • Great Hostel! Wish we would have stayed longer!
  • 86%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Benjamin Germany
  • Minuses: Kitchen lacks a stove, oven, or freezer. Hostel should procure an ice machine, toaster oven, plug-in hop, waffle iron, George Foreman grill---if not a full remodel. Some showers/baths lacked hot water. WIFI was weak, and constantly disconnected requiring reconfirmation. Pluses: plenty of free food, very clean, generous with towels and sheets, kind staff
  • 74%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating! She let me check in early and also asked which bunk I prefer! the location was excellent as was the free breakfast and even though the hostel is looking fairly rundown it's kept very clean. My one complaint was the Wifi, it was a very weak signal even though I was only on the second floor and it always cut in and out and made you sign back in and one time it disappeared altogether! other than that it's a great hostel with great staff.
  • 80%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This was my first time going to a hostel. I wasn't sure of what was going to happen. The staff were really helpful with any questions I had about directions or just general stuff. I thought that the cleanliness was very good. I once cleaned a building for a year, so I know what to look for. I thought the location is in a very good spot if you like to party. Also it's right by the bus line which is helpful.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jan 2015 Charity Canada
  • Generally pretty good. Great location and decently clean and well run. Didn't have too much interaction with the staff but they seemed helpful and friendly. A quieter hostel so probably not the place for partiers to go to but probably better for those looking to take it easy.
  • 74%
  • 09 Jan 2015 Sishir USA
  • Definitely was a great place to stay during my short trip to Vancouver. Located in the heart of downtown, it was easy to get around with multiple bus routes that out front of the hostel. Staff were very friendly and resourceful, and definitely a money saver with breakfast served daily between 8-10am! Also met a few cool people in the room I stayed in. Would definitely stay again.
  • 97%
  • 03 Jan 2015 David Australia
  • Does not have a kitchen, no stove or anything to cook for yourself. Very expensive for just a bed. There are crystal meth heads (drug addicts) in the street where the hostel is located sleeping there with signs saying free hugs and kisses ect. Which was kinda scary at times and I would not advice young/single woman to stay in this hostel or anywhere near here, avoid downtown vancouver at all cost! The internet does not even work in the room and switches on and off all the time,super irritating
  • 43%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Sander Netherlands
  • I think the hostel is excellent but the Wi-fi is really really slow. Please improve on the wi-fi and you are set, I got my value for money. This is meant for travelers who are not fussy. One thing, the bathrooms were super clean and I really liked that.
  • 91%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Riddhi India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »