See other Vancouver properties

HI-Vancouver Central

1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 83% from 34 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating! She let me check in early and also asked which bunk I prefer! the location was excellent as was the free breakfast and even though the hostel is looking fairly rundown it's kept very clean. My one complaint was the Wifi, it was a very weak signal even though I was only on the second floor and it always cut in and out and made you sign back in and one time it disappeared altogether! other than that it's a great hostel with great staff.
  • 80%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This was my first time going to a hostel. I wasn't sure of what was going to happen. The staff were really helpful with any questions I had about directions or just general stuff. I thought that the cleanliness was very good. I once cleaned a building for a year, so I know what to look for. I thought the location is in a very good spot if you like to party. Also it's right by the bus line which is helpful.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jan 2015 Charity Canada
  • Generally pretty good. Great location and decently clean and well run. Didn't have too much interaction with the staff but they seemed helpful and friendly. A quieter hostel so probably not the place for partiers to go to but probably better for those looking to take it easy.
  • 74%
  • 09 Jan 2015 Sishir USA
  • Definitely was a great place to stay during my short trip to Vancouver. Located in the heart of downtown, it was easy to get around with multiple bus routes that out front of the hostel. Staff were very friendly and resourceful, and definitely a money saver with breakfast served daily between 8-10am! Also met a few cool people in the room I stayed in. Would definitely stay again.
  • 97%
  • 03 Jan 2015 David Australia
  • Does not have a kitchen, no stove or anything to cook for yourself. Very expensive for just a bed. There are crystal meth heads (drug addicts) in the street where the hostel is located sleeping there with signs saying free hugs and kisses ect. Which was kinda scary at times and I would not advice young/single woman to stay in this hostel or anywhere near here, avoid downtown vancouver at all cost! The internet does not even work in the room and switches on and off all the time,super irritating
  • 43%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Sander Netherlands
  • I think the hostel is excellent but the Wi-fi is really really slow. Please improve on the wi-fi and you are set, I got my value for money. This is meant for travelers who are not fussy. One thing, the bathrooms were super clean and I really liked that.
  • 91%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Riddhi India
  • Highly recommended. Lovely, friendly staff, a great system for daytime bag storage (made me feel very happy about leaving my stuff there), good-sized locker for each bed. Very clean. My only complaint was the temperature – it was freezing! The lukewarm radiator in our room had no temperature control on it (despite a teasing sign above it telling you to turn the non-existent knob), and when we asked at the desk we were told the heating would be turned up later on. I slept in my clothes.
  • 91%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • A perfect place to stay for people who travel and want to explore the city, right there at the busiest street!
  • 97%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Sharanya India
  • Should take the noise at the back into consideration
  • 89%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • The room itself and the washrooms were very clean
  • 80%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous Iran
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »