See other Vancouver properties

HI-Vancouver Downtown

1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 85% from 40 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place describes itself as being clean and quiet. This certainly isn't the case. There are people yelling, singing, door slamming through the hallways. Maybe this is because there is no lounge on each floor so everyone just takes their noise out into the hallways. The rooms very tiny and very hot and stuffy. I could hardly open my bag because of everyone else's stuff. For $41 a night being the cheapest rate, I think I will plan better next time and find a nicer place for the same cost.
  • 49%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Irene Canada
  • An excellent, comfortable, and safe location for a hostel, if you desire to be near many amenities like grocery stores, shops, and main attractions in beautiful downtown Vancouver. This hostel is in a quiet location yet just steps away from clubs and restaurants. The free in room lockers and front desk luggage storage are nice if you have to arrive early or leave later in the day. Get at least a few days booked as the city has much to offer. Thanks for a great stay.
  • 97%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Doug Canada
  • As the name propagate the hostel is located near/in Downtown and a nice place to catch some afternoon sun at the river is only 2 minutes away. For travelers with cars there are free parking spots behind the hostel. The complimentary breakfast is great and a big kitchen with fridges allows to cook and store your own food. All in all a great hostel which i can recommend to 100%.
  • 97%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Jan Germany
  • My stay was a pleasant experience, however I thought the bathrooms, especially the one located in the lobby area were filthy. Also you need to provide some shelving to put your toiletry bag on , as you only have pedestal sinks in the bathroom that I was on floor 3. I have to admit, I have stayed at the property on Granville street, and I preferred it based on the cleanliness and the bathroom configuration.
  • 71%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Jthe only complaint was the lack of ventalation in the dorm rooms without AC.
  • 71%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Overall I enjoyed this hostel. I have always had a good experience with hostelling international. Overall they are professional and polite. One guy who checked us in the second night was especially great. He recommended we get the HI membership to save some money since we were staying multiple nights. That was great. I also always enjoy the events/activities that are organized. We went on Erik's tour of the suspension bridge etc. that was great! The hostel could improve the breakfast.
  • 86%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • My stay was lovely, located in a great location and it is so accessible to everywhere you need in Vancouver. It's literally a two minute walk from a big grocery store so you don't have to walk far with your food, which is always a bonus. It's bedside a load of cheap eats. Great sushi and super cheap. The only down side is the lack of air con in the building, even with two fans going all night you were sweaty. But a minor complaint in comparison to other things. The free breakfast is great too!
  • 83%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Really great place to stay. Rooms are small and hot but there's no reason to just hang out in them. Kitchen is nice and big. Same with the eating area. TV room was nice on a night with nothing to do. Lots of planned activities if you are looking for things to do. The area is perfect to stay in; close to the beaches and park, lots of places to eat, street is nice and quiet at night, not too far of a walk from Robson and Gastown.
  • 91%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Aaron Canada
  • The staff were very helpful and had answers to all our questions. The luggage storage room was well secured and enabled us to travel light across to Vancouver Island for four nights. Davey Street was very convenient and the food from the large grocery store could be heated up in the kitchen for dinner giving you a cheap dinner.
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Maralyn Australia
  • This is a great place to stay on a budget in Vancouver. It is located in the West End, close to restaurants, supermarkets and nightlife, but the hostel itself is located in a very quiet, leafy and safe street. English Bay Beach is just a stroll away (< 10 min). I stayed in a private room w/ shared bathroom, very simple furniture but clean, with a bunk bed, desk and private sink. Shared toilet was spotless, with good hot shower. Staff was friendly, free breakfast was ok, free wifi generally good.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »