See other Vancouver properties

HI-Vancouver Downtown

1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 85% from 38 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My stay was a pleasant experience, however I thought the bathrooms, especially the one located in the lobby area were filthy. Also you need to provide some shelving to put your toiletry bag on , as you only have pedestal sinks in the bathroom that I was on floor 3. I have to admit, I have stayed at the property on Granville street, and I preferred it based on the cleanliness and the bathroom configuration.
  • 71%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Jthe only complaint was the lack of ventalation in the dorm rooms without AC.
  • 71%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Overall I enjoyed this hostel. I have always had a good experience with hostelling international. Overall they are professional and polite. One guy who checked us in the second night was especially great. He recommended we get the HI membership to save some money since we were staying multiple nights. That was great. I also always enjoy the events/activities that are organized. We went on Erik's tour of the suspension bridge etc. that was great! The hostel could improve the breakfast.
  • 86%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • My stay was lovely, located in a great location and it is so accessible to everywhere you need in Vancouver. It's literally a two minute walk from a big grocery store so you don't have to walk far with your food, which is always a bonus. It's bedside a load of cheap eats. Great sushi and super cheap. The only down side is the lack of air con in the building, even with two fans going all night you were sweaty. But a minor complaint in comparison to other things. The free breakfast is great too!
  • 83%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Really great place to stay. Rooms are small and hot but there's no reason to just hang out in them. Kitchen is nice and big. Same with the eating area. TV room was nice on a night with nothing to do. Lots of planned activities if you are looking for things to do. The area is perfect to stay in; close to the beaches and park, lots of places to eat, street is nice and quiet at night, not too far of a walk from Robson and Gastown.
  • 91%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Aaron Canada
  • The staff were very helpful and had answers to all our questions. The luggage storage room was well secured and enabled us to travel light across to Vancouver Island for four nights. Davey Street was very convenient and the food from the large grocery store could be heated up in the kitchen for dinner giving you a cheap dinner.
  • 91%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Maralyn Australia
  • This is a great place to stay on a budget in Vancouver. It is located in the West End, close to restaurants, supermarkets and nightlife, but the hostel itself is located in a very quiet, leafy and safe street. English Bay Beach is just a stroll away (< 10 min). I stayed in a private room w/ shared bathroom, very simple furniture but clean, with a bunk bed, desk and private sink. Shared toilet was spotless, with good hot shower. Staff was friendly, free breakfast was ok, free wifi generally good.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • One of the best hostel I stayed in Vancouver.
  • 74%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • One of the best hostels I stayed in Vancouver.
  • 74%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Excellent place, super helpful friendly staff. Generous breakfast. In a nice quiet location but close to downtown and the sea. The only drawback was the air circulation. But hey it is an old building?
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »