See other Vancouver properties

HI-Vancouver Downtown

1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 84% from 45 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The female bathroom on level 4 was always filthy and the floor was covered in hair. One of the toilets and a shower were blocked off all 4 days I stayed there. The sink in the bedroom blocked up, no maintenance person came to look it at like I was told they would. The dorm was not vacuumed nor was the bin emptied for 3 days. Wifi only intermittently worked and was very slow. No good vibes about the place. Lots of middle aged guests. Did not enjoy it.
  • 37%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Room was small but clean. Bathrooms were clean. Free breakfast and wifi. Someone's car got its window busted in while parked in the hostel parking... I'm just happy it wasn't my rental, which was safely parked around the corner.
  • 74%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The only suggested I have would be to extend breakfast until 10am as you'll find that most people staying there are travellers and stay out late exploring and tend to sleep in making the hour and a half timeframe to have breakfast difficult at times. Otherwise it was fantastic!
  • 97%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • A very good clean hostel in a great location close to everything you need including stores and restaurants. Enjoyed Eric's tour of Vancouver (Tuesdays) and "the canyon", which is well worth the time. Spend less time on your phone, and go and have a look at what Vancouver has to offer, you can really enjoy everything.
  • 94%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Doug Canada
  • Had a great time. Slightly expensive for a hostel but I think it was worth it at the end of the day. Will recommend it.
  • 77%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Rohit India
  • I booked in 7 nights at this hostel and although I overbooked my stay in Vancouver I had a great time staying here. You have 24 hours security and staff are always available to help when needed. I like the fact breakfast is included as part of your stay and they served toast, bagels, cereals, muffins and you can cook if you want. The hostel is located in a quiet side street off from the main street (Davie St) filled with restaurants, bars, shops etc. Only a 10-15 mins to the downtown area.
  • 94%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • This place describes itself as being clean and quiet. This certainly isn't the case. There are people yelling, singing, door slamming through the hallways. Maybe this is because there is no lounge on each floor so everyone just takes their noise out into the hallways. The rooms very tiny and very hot and stuffy. I could hardly open my bag because of everyone else's stuff. For $41 a night being the cheapest rate, I think I will plan better next time and find a nicer place for the same cost.
  • 49%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Irene Canada
  • An excellent, comfortable, and safe location for a hostel, if you desire to be near many amenities like grocery stores, shops, and main attractions in beautiful downtown Vancouver. This hostel is in a quiet location yet just steps away from clubs and restaurants. The free in room lockers and front desk luggage storage are nice if you have to arrive early or leave later in the day. Get at least a few days booked as the city has much to offer. Thanks for a great stay.
  • 97%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Doug Canada
  • As the name propagate the hostel is located near/in Downtown and a nice place to catch some afternoon sun at the river is only 2 minutes away. For travelers with cars there are free parking spots behind the hostel. The complimentary breakfast is great and a big kitchen with fridges allows to cook and store your own food. All in all a great hostel which i can recommend to 100%.
  • 97%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Jan Germany
  • My stay was a pleasant experience, however I thought the bathrooms, especially the one located in the lobby area were filthy. Also you need to provide some shelving to put your toiletry bag on , as you only have pedestal sinks in the bathroom that I was on floor 3. I have to admit, I have stayed at the property on Granville street, and I preferred it based on the cleanliness and the bathroom configuration.
  • 71%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »