See other Vancouver properties

HI-Vancouver Downtown

1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 78% from 32 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There was somebody sleeping in my bed when I arrived. Servicies were terrible. They hadn't told me that the room has been changed. Which in result, I lost my slippers that I had put in my room
  • 20%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Jaehyo South Korea
  • It was great here. The only reason I did not give the staff the highest rating was "Kath" (that's all I could see of her name tag, there was some other lanyard covering part of it). It was Tuesday afternoon around 2:00 pm. there was no one at the counter or in the lobby so she was not busy. I asked her if she could help me with my wifi connection and she acted pretty rude about it like why should I do this. Meredith was awesome!!! In general this place was great! Clean, quiet, great loc
  • 97%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Jan USA
  • The actual hostel is great however the wifi is shockingly bad. For somewhere that caters for a lot of people who are far away from home this is jot good. For some this is the only way to contact people back home.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Anonymous England
  • The staff were all helpful. I really appreciated the 24 hour staffing so I could check in late at night. The room I was in was pretty hot. We opened the windows and the room usually cooled down throughout the night, but it was kind of uncomfortable when trying to go to sleep. It wasn't terrible, but a little better control of the temperature would be nice. It looked like they offered some great tours and activities. I didn't partake in them because my trip was already planned.
  • 69%
  • 15 May 2015 Amanda USA
  • It's a good cost performance.Breakfast was nice.Especially beagle was so delicious.I want to stay here again!
  • 89%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • The atmosphere in the dinning room area was very cold. Have stayed in other hostels with a much warmer atmosphere. Turning heat off on 4th floor (and possibly elsewhere) was not impressive. I understand your need to save money - it's a large building, but... Very strange guests in the category of the male species. Some were extremely weird. Do you house homeless street people? It's good if you do, but would be nice if other guests are aware of it. Most staff were great.
  • 77%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Kirsten Canada
  • This is the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The female bathroom on level 4 was always filthy and the floor was covered in hair. One of the toilets and a shower were blocked off all 4 days I stayed there. The sink in the bedroom blocked up, no maintenance person came to look it at like I was told they would. The dorm was not vacuumed nor was the bin emptied for 3 days. Wifi only intermittently worked and was very slow. No good vibes about the place. Lots of middle aged guests. Did not enjoy it.
  • 37%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Room was small but clean. Bathrooms were clean. Free breakfast and wifi. Someone's car got its window busted in while parked in the hostel parking... I'm just happy it wasn't my rental, which was safely parked around the corner.
  • 74%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The only suggested I have would be to extend breakfast until 10am as you'll find that most people staying there are travellers and stay out late exploring and tend to sleep in making the hour and a half timeframe to have breakfast difficult at times. Otherwise it was fantastic!
  • 97%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • A very good clean hostel in a great location close to everything you need including stores and restaurants. Enjoyed Eric's tour of Vancouver (Tuesdays) and "the canyon", which is well worth the time. Spend less time on your phone, and go and have a look at what Vancouver has to offer, you can really enjoy everything.
  • 94%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Doug Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »